An Elder Worthy Of Honor

IMG_3018

We were blessed this past Sunday to have Elder Vaughn Morton in our evening service.  I am so thankful for the influence that he has had in my life and so many others, his commitment to preach truth and holiness and his example of evangelism. He was a blessing to our congregation as he talked about life and our response to it. I’m not going to try and explain his message here, but soon there will be a link to it on our church website where you can hear it for yourself. I hope to post the link here once it’s on our website.

 Update: September 2, 2016- Here is the link to Elder Morton’s sermon.

http://www.cornerstonepentecostal.org/page/life_just_let_it_unfold

 

  I’m truly grateful for all the elders that have helped to mold and shape my life. I am reprinting a poem I wrote a few years ago to honor this wonderful man of God.  Thank you, Elder Morton for your preaching, teaching, example and consistent Christian living we have seen over many years!

 

Path Of The Elders

 I still hear their voices, ringing so true

My mind sees their hands uplifted in praise

Precious, the memories of elders I knew

Influencing me in my younger days

Their hoary heads I can still clearly view

Slower in step, but their eyes still ablaze

So privileged to have their path cross with mine.

Their lives spoke to me of God’s love so divine.

Worshipping the Lord and loving the Word

Serving God in valley or mountain peak

Many dead now, but their voice is still heard

Beyond the grave I can still hear them speak

Oh, may their memory never be blurred

To walk as they walked is the thing I seek

They left a heritage godly and great

A lifestyle I want to emulate.

One day when we cross to Heaven’s fair shore

And meet again in that blessed, sweet land

Those elders, they will be tired no more

We’ll sing strong and clear with the glory band

Praising the One they taught me to adore

As in His glorious presence we stand

Taking part in eternity’s pages

Forever blessed with the Rock of Ages.

Written 3/10/08

4 thoughts on “An Elder Worthy Of Honor

  1. I still remember his, message, Let It Unfold, and the poem he shared. Thank God for men like him who were and still are called, faithful, and true to the Lord. The ripple effect of their lives still remains.

    1. Hi Keek! The let it unfold story and the poem were part of his message. I too, am grateful for the ripple effect of Elder Morton and other great elders like him. We are so blessed to have their influence.

    1. Hi Sister McElhaney! Wow, I didn’t know that Elder Morton was your boss at one time. I’m sure he was a good employer, and I always enjoy any time I get to hear him preach. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

