Blown Away – Part 3

As my sister Karen gave her eulogy of Tom, she mentioned that she had found my brother’s prayer list as she was sorting through some of his belongings. It was 14 pages long. Wow! Tears filled my eyes. Later, when the family was all together at Karen’s house, I asked if I could see the list. It was incredible. I saw names of individuals and names of churces. Everything was organized into categories such as family members, missionaries, people I have witnessed to, etc. I saw some names of people I haven’t heard from or let alone even thought of in years, but Tom thought of them and prayed for them. My mom mentioned that he went through his list every Friday. I was totally blown away! As I was thinking about this prayer list, a scripture came to my mind. These are words that Jesus spoke about prayer.

But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly.

 

Mathew 6:6

 

 

I can’t help but believe that my brother who prayed much in secret is now being rewarded openly in the presence of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. Tom, although you have departed from this earth, I know God is still working in people’s hearts and lives through the prayers that you prayed for them. Thank you for the example you left that is challenging me to want to pray more. Perhaps one day, when we reach the other side, God will reveal to us just how much truth is in this quote.

“More things are wrought by prayer than this world dreams of.”

Alfred Lord Tennyson

 

 

Leave a Reply

