Wrong Number or A God Thing?

I just had the most incredible experience, but before I can explained what happened, I need to backtrack to last night.

As we were wrapping up a wonderful New Year’s Eve service at church and getting ready to go home, I thought I would check my cell phone to see if there were any missed calls, Happy New Year wishes, etc. I had received one text message from a number I didn’t recognize. Whoever left this message was not somebody that I had in my address book.  The text wished me a Happy New Year and urged me to send this on to 15 of my best buds, so that I would have a good new year. It also mentioned if I didn’t do this that I wouldn’t have a good 2011. I just thought to myself, “this has got to be a wrong number”, and I quickly brushed it aside until the next morning. Late this morning, around 10 or 11, I was telling my daughter about this text I got from somebody in Oregon that was probably a wrong number. She suggested that I text the person and ask them who they are. So I just sent a text that said, “I’m not sure I know who you are. Could you please identify yourself?” The person responded back that her name was Terri from Oregon and she mentioned that she was a friend of some guy that I do not know. I texted back and told her that I didn’t know a Terri from Oregon, but Happy New Year anyhow. She then texted back and asked if I knew this guy she mentioned. I texted back and told her no, my name is Carol, and I live in California. She texted me back and named a city in California where she used to live. I told her that I was about 25 miles from that city, and then I felt like the Lord prompted me to ask something. I mentioned a particular church in that city, told her the pastor there was a friend of ours and asked if she knew where it was. She responded that she did and had a sister that lived right down the street from that church. I said “small world, isn’t it?”, and then I asked her if she went to church in Oregon and told of of 2 friends we have up in Oregon and how we had visited their churches. It turns out she lives 10 minutes away from one of the cities I mentioned. I texted her back and asked, “Wrong number or is this a God thing? Anyway, to make a long story a little shorter, we conversed through texting for a good hour. She mentioned that she felt like this was a sign from God, and she may end up visiting the church in McMinnville that I mentioned to her. (Naomi, if you’re reading this, it’s your church!) One of her sons actually lives right down the street from the church, and she passes by it all the time! I started a conversation with this woman as a total stranger and had made a friend by the time we were done. She wants to keep in touch. There is no telling what God is going to do. You just never know!

9 thoughts on “Wrong Number or A God Thing?

  1. What an exciting way to start 2011!

    Happy New Year to you and your family.
    Hi Sis. McElhaney. Yes, it was exciting, and I’m believing God to bring something good out of this. Happy New Year to you too!

  2. God’s ways are above our ways for sure!! That is an amazing experience! Thanks for sharing!!

    Happy New Year to your family!
    Hi Sis. Kendrick. Yes, God’s ways are certainly higher than ours. I am still in awe from what happened. I hope you and your family have a wonderful New Year too!

  3. I believe that it was a god thing he knows how to reach people even when we don’t.
    Yes, God knows exactly what it takes to reach someone. Thanks for stopping by, and have a blessed New Year!

  4. WOW!! That’s wonderful!! If she wants someone to contact her or give her my number… email me and let me know. I would love to stop by and visit with her. That is truly amazing.

    Thanks, Naomi. I plan to contact her within the next couple of days and will let you know. 🙂

  5. Sis, it never ceases to amaze me of the ways and means that God uses to reach out to people and draw them to Him. I will be praying that something good, yea, something extraordinary comes out of this happening!

    Thanks for your prayers, Keek. I am believing God for the miraculous!

  6. Praise the Lord! A good reminder to me to be a little gentler with telemarketers and wrong numbers, you just never know!

    Yes, this is so true. I have another friend who is a pastor’s wife, and she shared a little story with me about a wrong number. A few years ago, there was a man that was trying to call his wife at their home and accidentally dialed the wrong number. The pastor picked up the phone, and the man immediately realized that he dialed the wrong number and began apologizing. First, the pastor started to say, “that’s okay”, but then he paused and said, “You did not dial the wrong number. You have reached the home of an Apostolic preacher.” He then began to witness to this man. This man called him back the next day and wanted to know more and where the pastor’s church was. To make a long story short, him and his wife ending up getting in a Bible study, and the man received the Holy Ghost and got baptized in Jesus’ name. You just never know!!

  7. This is great! I usually ignore such texts and I never forward them on either (I think they are silly), but it was wise of you to seek to find out who the person was. I believe God will be working good things in her life.
    Hi Kweenmama. I think my daughter had the wisdom in this case, for she was the one who suggested I text back and try to find out who the person was. I am so glad she made the suggestion and that I took her up on it. Hope you and your family have a wonderful 2011!

  8. Sometimes the Lord works in mysterious ways. May it be just the beginning of a new year filled with multiple opportunities.

    Thank you, Karen. Looking forward to great things in 2011.

Leave a Reply

