Gleanings From Psalm 23

This past weekend we were honored to have Brother and Sister Ensey as guests in our home and with us in services. Our church was extremely blessed by the ministry of Brother Ensey. On Sunday morning he taught on the 23rd Psalm, and brought out so many things that I had never before seen/considered.   It has always amazed me how you can still glean things from the Word of God in passages that are very familiar to you. The Bible truly is alive!  I want to share just a few things that stood out to me as Brother Ensey taught.

 

“He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:……” he leadeth me beside the still waters. “

          God will never lead you to a place where you can’t grow and prosper spiritually.

 

      “he leadeth me beside the still waters.”

          Sheep need an atmosphere of peace. As God’s people, we need peace too, and we can have it in our churches and homes through Him.

     “He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness  for his name’s sake.”

          God is doing a spiritual work inside of us. He will never lead us away from righteousness!

 

      “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil:”


        Death is not something to be feared for the believer.  A shadow cannot hurt anybody.

 

        “thy rod and thy staff they comfort  me.”

          The rod stands for correction. Because God is our Father, He loves us enough to correct us as an earthly father would correct his son when he needs it.  Although correction can hurt when it comes, if we receive it rightly, it will end up helping us and being a comfort

          The staff stands for forgiveness and mercy. Where would any of us be without God’s mercy and forgiveness?

Finally, if you are a child of God, you are absolutely being followed each and every day that you live. According to Psalm 23:6, goodness and mercy are following you, and we need both. Those are the kind of followers that I want. How about you?

 

Leave a Reply

