The Blessing Of Friendship


This past weekend I was blessed to have my good friend and her husband come to visit our family. It was so nice to be able to have them stay in our home.


Good friends eat together!


Here’s a close up of the dish I had at First Street Cafe in Benicia. The tuna salad stuffed avocados were delicious!


While visiting Benicia, we also were able to see a glass blowing demonstration done at a local shop. It was so interesting.


Of course, empanadas were part of our weekend. These ones are filled with chicken and artichoke.

Amiga mía, I am so glad that God allowed our paths to cross. You have been a listening ear, a voice of encouragement, someone to laugh with and everything that I needed in a friend. I am excited to see God continuing to open doors for you as you prepare to return to Perú.  The following poem I first heard many years ago at a ladies retreat. I dedicate it to you. Thank you for being a wonderful friend!

 

Touching Shoulders

There’s a comforting thought at the close of the day,
When I’m weary, lonely and sad,
That catches hold of my disconsolate heart,
And bids it be merry and glad,
It gets in my soul and drives out my cares,
And finally thrills through and through,
It is just a sweet memory that chants a refrain,
“I’m glad I touched shoulders with you”.

Did you know you were brave, did you know you were strong?
Did you know there was one leaning hard?
Did you know that I waited and listened and prayed,
And was cheered by your simplest word?
Did you know that I longed for that smile on your face,
For the sound of your voice ringing true?
Did you know I grew stronger and better because
I had merely touched shoulders with you?

I am glad that I live, that I battle and strive,
For the place that I know I must fill,
I am thankful for sorrows, I’ll meet with a grin,
What fortune may send good or ill,
I may not have wealth, I may not be great,
But I know I shall always be true …
For I have in my life that courage you gave,
When once, I rubbed shoulders with you.

“Author Unknown”

2 thoughts on “The Blessing Of Friendship

Leave a Reply

