She Crossed The Finish Line

This is the wording my husband/pastor used in relaying to some folks from our church that Sister Carmen Hood, whom we have been praying for, had passed away today. Sister Hood was the wife of the late evangelist Jason Hood, mother of Jaelyn Hood, anointed singer, songwriter, musician and a genuine Christian lady. My heart goes out to her family. I am praying for them and especially her daughter Jaelyn who has lost both her daddy and mommy within a short time period.

When I first heard the news of Sister Hood’s passing, my mind went back to something I posted almost 10 years ago. The post was entitled When Death Doesn’t Seem Fair. To keep this post from being too lengthy, I won’t go into the details of that post. I just mentioned it, because this is one of those situations where from our human standpoint, the death of Sister Carmen Hood may seem unfair. She endured so much physical affliction, was so young and has left behind a little girl. It’s easy to wonder things such as “God, how come you didn’t heal her when we truly believed you could do it?” “Why are you leaving her little girl without a daddy and a mommy?” I’m sure there are other questions too, and I make no claims that I completely understand it all.  The truth of the matter is that this is just one side of the story. This is our human perspective, but God has a perspective too.

The Scripture says in Psalm 116:15, “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.” 

What we look upon as a loss down here on earth, God is counting as a great gain.  One of His children, whom He never intended to live forever in this sin cursed world, has come home to a place where there will be no more sorrow, tears, crying and pain, and best of all, there is constant, unbroken fellowship with the Lord. Many times we have prayed for Sister Hood to be healed, and today she received healing in the way that God chose to heal her. I understand that her passing is very difficult for family and friends, but to those of them that have been obedient to the gospel and are living for Jesus, it is only a temporary separation. It is an ending in one sense. In the Scripture, living this Christian life is compared to running a race. Sister Carmen has finished that race and can now say with the apostle Paul:

“I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: ” 2 Timothy 4:7

But today was also a beginning for Sister Hood. The apostle Paul goes on to say:

“Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.” 2 Timothy 4:8

My prayer is that Sister Hood’s family will find comfort in the fact that she has gone on to receive her prize, and if they will embrace the same faith that she had, they will see her again.

I dedicate this poem to Sister Hood and her family.

She crossed the finish line

Led by His hand divine

Though we felt it too soon she should go

God allowed it to be so.

 

Frail body can no longer confine

She crossed the finish line

Continuing her redemption story

In the presence of His glory.

 

We prayed that she would be healed

God’s plan for her now revealed

She crossed the finish line

It was by His design.

 

And although we do feel great pain

Our loss, Heaven’s blessed gain

We know everything will be fine

She crossed the finish line.

 

 3/25/16

 

 

2 thoughts on “She Crossed The Finish Line

  1. The first word I cried out was “Why?” Im not a member of the Hood’s church, but I’ve been blessed by the preaching of Pastor Keith Hood and his so Pastor Jason Hood on many occasions, as well as Sis Carmen Hood beautiful ministry of music, I love the church and the people. I started attending the chuchbefore Jason and C armen were married. Your words really helped me and Im sure that Iit helped others, all things aren’t meant for us to understand. But one thing I’m sure of, they’re both in heaven worshipping our wonderful God.

    1. Sis. Yolunda,

      You are certainly right that all things are not meant for us to understand. When things don’t seem to make sense and we don’t get an answer from God, as difficult as it may be, those are the times we need to walk in trust. The words to an older chorus come to mind.

      God is too wise to be mistaken
      God is too good to be unkind
      So when you don’t understand
      When don’t see His plan
      When you can’t trace His hand
      Trust His Heart.

      While Sister Hood did not receive the miracle that we were praying for, the healing of her body, she did receive the ultimate miracle. She’s in heaven! I know her family and friends that are in church understand this, but we still have our human grief to deal with in losing a loved one. My prayers are with Sis. Carmen Hoods’ family, church family and friends. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

