Nevertheless At Thy Word

Luke 5:4-6 Now when he had left speaking, he said unto Simon, Launch out into the deep, and let down your nets for a draught.
And Simon answering said unto him, Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word I will let down the net.
And when they had this done, they inclosed a great multitude of fishes: and their net brake.

Have you ever had words just seem to jump off the page while you were reading your Bible? That is what happened to me this morning. Thank God for those 4 words that Peter uttered – “nevertheless at thy word”. When Jesus spoke to him in verse 4 and told him to launch out into the deep and let down his net, at first he raised an objection. He had already been toiling all night and hadn’t caught a single fish. However, Peter was quick to dismiss his reservation and obey the Lord. What a great blessing that came when he obeyed! I want to be quick to obey when the Word of God goes forth and to trust God more than my own human reasoning or feelings.

Nevertheless at thy Word
Although it may seem absurd
I’ll leave it in your hand
And do what you command.

Though naught has yet occurred
Nevertheless at thy Word
My obedience could be
What will bring victory.

When it seems that hope is gone
And I’m feeling all alone
Nevertheless at thy Word
I’ll let my heart be stirred

If you’re bidding me to come
And with fear, I am numb
May this refrain ever be heard
Nevertheless at thy Word!

3/2/16

Leave a Reply

