The One Constant

IMG_1148 edit109 Those kiddos! I love them dearly. God has reminded me from time to time that they really are not mine. They are His! I’m thankful He has given my husband and I the privilege to raise them. I know one day, if the Lord tarries that they will leave “the nest”. One day I was thinking about this and wrote the following poem.

There’s a truth at times brought back to me of which I have long known,

my children, though so dear to me are really not my own.

They have been such a part of me. I hold them close in heart,

but they’ve belonged to God above right from their very start

. We’ve many happy memories. We’re bound by love’s strong cords.

Yet there’s no escaping the fact that they really are the Lord’s.

The little girl is replaced by a woman. That young boy has become a man.

My prayer and desire for them is that they live to fulfill God’s plan.

And though the time will come when they leave the proverbial “nest”,

I trust in their Creator to lead them in the way that is best.

Things will change as the kids grow up. They may become husbands or wives.

I pray there will be one constant thing,

Jesus, the center of their lives.

6 thoughts on “The One Constant

  1. Love that sweet niece and precious nephew of mine. So thankful for what they are becoming in Jesus. So proud of their parents for the godly examples they have set.

Leave a Reply

