I Love Preachers!

Last month, I was blessed to be able to attend a preaching conference with my family and some other people from our church. The preaching of the Word of God was so right on, powerful and life changing! I walked away with a deep gratitude and great appreciation in my heart for preachers. I’m not talking about just anybody who gets up behind a pulpit. I am talking about real men of God who are not afraid or ashamed to declare Bible truth. As I was musing on this, I began to write a poem, which I let sit for a while and didn’t actually finish until today. My husband has stated a couple of times recently that it takes preaching, a lot of preaching to keep us living right and on the road to heaven. I dedicate this post to the men of God who are faithfully preaching the Word of God in truth and sincerity. Thank you for the difference you’ve made in my life and so many others!

 

I LOVE PREACHERS!!

 

I love preachers,

Yes, I do

That aren’t afraid to preach what’s true

Letting the cry of truth be heard

As they proclaim God’s Holy Word.

I love preachers.

 

I love preachers

That proclaim

The power and might of Jesus’ name

How God our Saviour came to earth

In humility, through a virgin birth.

I love preachers.

 

I love preachers

Who expose

False doctrine and other spiritual foes

Bringing heresies to light

For the faith, they continually fight.

I love preachers.

 

I love preachers

That have goals

To share God’s love with wayward souls

Who of the gospel have no shame

And believe baptism in Jesus’ name.

I love preachers.

 

I love preachers

Who confess

We need to walk in holiness.

We’re bought with a price. We’re not our own.

It’s a blessing that they make this known.

I love preachers.

 

I love preachers

That I’ll see

One day, in eternity.

I’ll tell them what I know is true.

“I’m so glad I listened to you!”

I love preachers!!

 

Written 9-8-12

 

2Timothy 4:2  Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine.

 

Titus 2:1  But speak thou the things which become sound doctrine:

 

1Timothy 5:17  Let the elders that rule well be counted worthy of double honour, especially they who labour in the word and doctrine.

 

1Timothy 4:16  Take heed unto thyself, and unto the doctrine; continue in them: for in doing this thou shalt both save thyself, and them that hear thee.

 

Romans 1:16  For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

 

Hebrews 12:14  Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord:

 

1Corinthians 1:21  For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.

 

Romans 6:17  But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “I Love Preachers!

Leave a Reply

