It’s So Easy To Believe God………

for other people’s “impossible” situations, isn’t it? I know there have been many times when I have said things such as “Trust God. He’ll make a way” or “I’m praying for you, and I know God will work something out.” I have been pondering lately why it seems so easy to trust God to move in somebody else’s difficult situation but it’s a little harder when it comes to trusting Him with our “Red Sea perplexities.”

A favorite portion of Scripture that I have leaned on through the years is found in Proverbs 3:5,6

 

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

I think sometimes it’s easier to trust God to move in other people’s situations because we don’t have a complete “understanding” of all the details involved in their trial. My husband shared a story a few years back that will illustrate the point I’m trying to make. One day he got a phone call from a lady who was attending our church, and she asked him if he could come and pray for her Uncle “Joe” who was very sick in the hospital. When he arrived in Joe’s room, several relatives were there who seemed pretty downcast, and Joe appeared to be sleeping. My husband talked to these people a few minutes, sharing with them some things that the Bible has to say about faith. Then he asked them to join hands with him and pray for Joe. He just said a simple prayer, asking God to heal Joe and give him a chance to come to church and hear the gospel,and when he was done, Joe woke up and asked for some water. Not wanting to be in the way of things, my husband quietly ducked out of the room and left. A short time later, he got a call from Joe’s niece who had asked him to come and pray. She began to tell my husband that her uncle had been in a coma for 3 days, the doctors had said that he wasn’t going to make it, and a Catholic priest had actually come by and given him last rites before my husband was there. She said it was a miracle that her uncle had woken up, and her family was very excited. Joe was released from the hospital a couple of days later and did end up visiting the church. When my husband was relating this story, he mentioned that he was glad he did not know the full extent of Joe’s condition, because he may not have had the faith to pray as he did. It was a blessing that he did not have that “understanding” of Joe’s condition.

I think too many times when it comes to our own personal impossible situations, we feel we know all the details, all the ins and outs, and that “understanding” can limit us from trusting God. Our family is facing one of those situations now with our house that looks impossible. It’s either a short sale or foreclosure. We just had someone make an offer on our house, so it looks like we’ll be able to avoid a foreclosure, but we still have the situation of finding a place to live that we can afford. With bad credit and an income that is not always consistent, things do not look good, but I am not going to lean on that “understanding”. I know that God is able to make a way where it seems there is no way, and I have these promises in His Word.

 

Psalm 37:25

 

I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.

 

Philippians 4:19

 

But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

So I am praying(and I’m thankful for many others that have said they would pray for us)and believing God that He has a plan, and He will take care of us. He always has!

 

 

8 thoughts on “It’s So Easy To Believe God………

  1. I think you hit the proverbial nail on the head, Sis! But in spite of all we see or do not see, God is still able to provide. I love you and I’m praying God will blow you away with a mighty miracle

    1. Hi Keek. Yes, God is able to provide in spite of what we see or do not see. Even though the children of Israel had seen how God could move through the plagues he brought upon the land of Egypt, they failed to trust Him to provide for them in the wilderness. I was reading in Psalm 78 where they asked the question(not in faith, but in doubt)”Can God furnish a table in the wilderness?” We can read on and see in this psalm that God’s anger was kindled against them because of their unbelief. I don’t want to hinder or displease God with unbelief. I want to trust in His Holy Word. Thank you so much for your prayers, and I would love to be blown away with a might miracle! I love you too!!

  2. Wow! What a beautiful and moving post. It’s so true how we have more faith for others than ourselves. I feel guilty for not trusting God with my own problems like I should, but trust Him with other people’s. What you said here makes so much sense, how we don’t know all the details of others so it’s easier to have faith for them. Thanks for the eye-opener.

    And I will pray for you as well that God’s perfect will is done for you and your family.
    *HUGS* and much love, Tena ♥

    1. Hi Tena. So glad you liked the post. I can’t say that I’ve always had the trust that I should have in every situation, but I do want to learn to trust Him more. Thanks so much for your prayers too. It means a lot. Love, Sis. C.

Leave a Reply

