The Habit

“Don’t pray when you feel like it. Have an appointment with the Lord and keep it. A man is powerful on his knees.” Corrie ten Boom

 

Do you have the habit? I am talking of course, about the habit of prayer. Over the years, I have heard it stressed through many different preachers the importance of having a regular prayer time. When we were at West Coast Conference in November, Elder Morton was talking about the importance of having a regular time and place where you pray daily. He mentioned that when you start doing this, after a while that time of prayer will call to you. I have found that to be so. I like to pray in the morning because at that time, I am generally the most alert. I find that most of the time, I just wake up on my own without the aid of an alarm clock when it’s about time to pray. Actually, I know it is the Lord helping me to wake up, so I can keep that special appointment.

 

Sometimes we will have days where our prayer time may be interrupted by something unexpected, and we may not be able to keep our special appointment, but that should be the exception and not the norm.

Do you have a habit of brushing your teeth or showering daily? Have you ever had to go for a day or two or longer without being able to do one of these? I have, and it felt downright nasty especially not to be able to shower. It felt so good when I could finally get back into that habit again.

Do you feel grimy in your spirit if you start missing your prayer time? Does it seem you lose your temper more quickly or are more easily agitated or worse yet don’t feel like reading your Bible or going to church? Those are sure signs that we need to pray.

May God help us to continually cultivate this most important habit of prayer!

Leave a Reply

