Blown Away – Part 1

It was Saturday, October 22, 2011 and we had just been dismissed from an anniversary service we were attending for a pastor and his family with whom we are friends. We would head over to a nice dinner and fellowship in another room, but before we did that, I decided to check my cell phone for any calls or messages. I saw I had missed calls from both of my sisters, a voicemail and a text from my sister-in-law. I clicked on the text from my sister-in-law and was alarmed to read that my older brother Tom had been rushed to the hospital. I stepped outside and tried calling my older sister. I was only able to get her voicemail, so I called my younger sister. I got through to my sister Ann who tearfully informed me that our brother had passed away. It was so sudden, so unexpected. I felt like my mind was reeling, whirling and trying to grasp what I had just heard. I was blown away.

The next day was Sunday, and I was praying that morning. We had already been in revival for a couple of weeks with an evangelist. I remembered when my dad passed away in 1994, my pastor at the time told me and my sisters who attended the same church that God would make it up to us. I remembered telling God how I wanted Him to make it up to me. I had a friend at the time who was coming to church with me, and I was also teaching her a home Bible study. I told the Lord I wanted Him to make it up to me by filling her with the Holy Ghost. She did receive the Holy Ghost in a church service just a short time later. I remembered this as I was praying, and I asked God to do it again. I asked God to fill someone with the Holy Ghost that Sunday morning, October 23, 2011. Do you know what? God answered my prayer that morning as 14 year old Emily received the Holy Ghost with the evidence of speaking in tongues during the altar call. I was blown away!

To be continued………………

Leave a Reply

