When Less Is More

Today, my brother Tom texted me the following verses.

Mar 10:21

Then Jesus beholding him loved him, and said unto him, One thing thou lackest: go thy way, sell whatsoever thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, take up the cross, and follow me.

Mar 10:22

And he was sad at that saying, and went away grieved: for he had great possessions.

 

I got to thinking about this story and wrote the following poem. May God help us to “let go” when He asks us to do so!

 

 

When Less Is More

 

 

 

 

 

One day a rich young ruler came to Jesus, for to see,

 

what needed to be done to have life eternally.

 

But the answer Jesus gave, this man chose to reject,

 

for the Master offered a choice that he did not expect.

 

“Go sell what you have, and give it to the poor.”

 

To the ruler, it sounded like less, but in reality it was more.

 

This fellow had so many possessions, that he could not clearly see,

 

what Jesus wanted to offer, was life more abundantly.

 

Though the Lord looked on the man, with love in His eyes that day

 

the rich young ruler’s face was sad, his decision, to walk away.

 

 

 

 

 

Perhaps it’s not possessions, to which you tightly cling;

 

it may be a person, ambition or some other worldly thing.

 

Will you choose to go away dejected, or scowl, wear a frown,

 

if the Master, knowing what’s best, would ask you to lay it down?

 

The things that we hold on to, thinking that they make us whole

 

may be the very reason God sends leanness to our soul.

 

Learn a lesson from this rich man, of his error don’t partake.

 

To hang on, when God says, “Let go”, is always a mistake.

 

If you come in true surrender, you’ll be better than before.

 

For in God’s economy, sometimes less is really more!

 

 

 

Written 10-6-11

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “When Less Is More

    1. Sis. Connell, This poem is absolutely beautiful and I can relate to it very well. Upon spinning my-self in a cocoon with Jesus to where I was bound so tight in Him that He began to search the very depth of my soul. He came upon a package that was wrapped and tucked away deep in the recesses of my soul. So deep that I honestly thought it was ok being there. He brought it to light. When I saw the package and it was opened I did not want to let it go. In it was something so precious to me, something that I had held onto for oh so many years.

      I will tell you, it was one of the biggest battles I ever faced. But I have done it! I let it go! With the help and guidance of my pastor and his wife I truly know what True Surrender is.
      Hi Jolene! It is good to hear from you. I’m glad to hear that the Lord gave you victory over your struggle. Surrender can be a very hard thing, but if you look back afterwards, you can see how necessary it was, and I’m so thankful that God in His infinite wisdom only asks us to surrender whatever it is for our good. He truly does love us and wants the very best for us.

Leave a Reply

