Drive ‘Em Out!

 

Joh 2:13-17

 

And the Jews’ passover was at hand, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem,

 

And found in the temple those that sold oxen and sheep and doves, and the changers of money sitting:

 

And when he had made a scourge of small cords, he drove them all out of the temple, and the sheep, and the oxen; and poured out the changers’ money, and overthrew the tables;

 

 

And said unto them that sold doves, Take these things hence; make not my Father’s house an house of merchandise.

 

 

And his disciples remembered that it was written, The zeal of thine house hath eaten me up.

 

This portion of Scripture seemed to leap out to me today as I was doing my Bible reading. If I could go back in time, I think it would have been something to see Jesus’ driving the money changers out of the temple. There are just some things that do not belong in the house of God, and Jesus was not the least bit afraid to say so. While Jesus is not physically present here today doing what he did in the temple on that day, I’m thankful that He does have men of God with a zeal who are not afraid to drive out bad attitudes, spirits and doctrines of devils through the preaching of the Word of God! Over the years, I feel like God has invested in me and put a lot of good things into me through the preaching of the Word of God, but I know I could not be complete with just “positive preaching”. I have had bad attitudes and wrong thinking that needed to be driven out through the preaching of the Holy Bible.  A loving, earthly parent will correct their child and administer the rod of correction when it is needed. I’m thankful that our Heavenly Father is the same way, and that if we will let Him, He’ll drive out our “stinkin’ thinkin” through an anointed man of God that delivers the Word!

Leave a Reply

