But Amnon Had A Friend

I have an unusual hobby that I engage in every so often. Every time I attend a church conference, I always try to take at least one of the messages I hear and put the essence of it into poetic form. One of the messages that was preached by Elder Frazier was entitled “But Amnon Had A Friend”. It was a warning to avoid the downfall of Amnon, which was confiding in and listening to the bad, ungodly advice given by his friend, Jonadab. I am thankful for this timely message for young people.(and us older folks too)We really need to be careful about the friendships we have, because if they are not right, we could lose out with God and have our lives become a disaster.  To read about what happened to Amnon in 2 Samuel 13, click here.

Here is my poem. This form of poetry is called a quatern.

 

“But Amnon had a friend”

To whom he did attend

But what Jonadab did advise

Led to Amnon’s sad demise.

 

 

 

These words we cannot amend

“But Amnon had a friend”

May their message be your guide

Take care in whom you confide.

 

 

 

The struggle that raged in his heart

He could have taken to God at the start

“But Amnon had a friend”

Whose counsel led to a tragic end.

 

 

 

When temptation, your mind comes to haunt

Let God be your true confidant

Lest the same error make you descend

“But Amnon had a friend.

 

written 6/24/11

One thought on “But Amnon Had A Friend

  1. That was such an incredible message. I ended some friendships as a young person – it was very difficult, but I believe I’m still in the church today because I did so.

    That was a fantastic message, and I’m sure it spoke to the hearts of many young people. I’m so thankful for the Word of God!

Leave a Reply

