Reconnecting

First, I want to say thank you to those who prayed in response to my last post. I did have my therapy session with Anna on Saturday, and it went okay. The first thing I did was give her a short PECS Bible study that I put together. I tried to put in as many pictures as possible, because I’ve read that a lot of people with autism think in pictures instead of words. I really don’t know how much of the Bible study that she understood. It’s hard to know, because Anna does not speak when she is in front of people. The only time she is verbal is when she is on the phone. Anyhow, Anna seemed really tired. She actually feel asleep part way through the session, so I had to cut it short. I found out later that she was given some medicine on Friday that makes her drowsy.

Sunday morning, she came to church with one of our new converts, whose children have been friends of Anna for several years. She was sleeping under a pew during worship service. I went and sat by her during the preaching. At one point, she got up and went and sat on the back pew. She started reaching up to an electrical outlet on the back wall and was trying to pull out a plastic protector that was inserted into the plug part. I put my hand up to block her and she stopped. She sat there for a few minutes and then went and layed down underneath the pew in front of me. At one point, I looked at her, and she was looking directly at me. I held her gaze, and she kept looking at me, which is great, because she hardly ever looks anyone in the eye. Then she reached out her hand toward me.  I was going to reach out my hand to her, but I decided to put my Bible down by her instead. She picked it up and held it for a few minutes before putting it back down. I took the Bible back. She reached out her hand again. I put my hand next to hers but did not touch her hand. I wanted her to be the one to initiate the touch if this is what she wanted. She poked my hand lightly a couple of times with one finger, and then she rested her fingers on my hand. The preaching was going on still, so I just held her hand and prayed quietly but very earnestly for her. It was probably about 7 or 8 minutes. She had fallen asleep again. I let go of her hand when the altar call was given and went up front to pray. So………………………………………I don’t really know what was accomplished, but I still can’t help but feel that Anna, in her own way, is reaching after God. Hopefully, I will be able to talk to her sometime this week and see what she has to say about what happened. In the meantime, I will keep praying and believing God for great things. I know He is more than able!!

***God also answered another prayer of mine this weekend. The new convert from our church who is friends with Anna also has a son that is autistic. He had not been to church with his mother, because he was worried that he might not be able to handle the noise. I have been praying, and I know others have too that God would just put a desire in his heart to come.  He came on Sunday morning. Thank you, Jesus!!

2 thoughts on “Reconnecting

  1. Sister Connell! Jen told me about Anna of Friday night and it was so touching! It is amazing how God wants ALL people, small and big, to be with him and know him.

    I will pray for Anna and your church. Not all people have the wisdom to deal with autistic children, but he Lord has given this to you.

    Please keep us updated 🙂

Leave a Reply

