The Power Of Praise

As I was driving home after running an errand, I saw a sign out in front of a local chiropractor’s office. It said, “Give more praise and watch the miracles happen.”

I began thinking about this saying, and I believe it rings of truth. I have seen the benefits that come first of all from a person either praising, complimenting or encouraging someone. I know in working with autistic children that praise can be  motivating, and when I see one of my kids make even the smallest amount of improvement or progress, I try to sincerely praise them. Saying things such as “Great job! Good work! or You did it!” can have a positive effect. There are plenty of people in the world that can criticize, discourage or point out faults. (I’m not talking about constructive criticism. That’s totally different.) I want to be an encourager and sincerely offer a word of praise and encouragement at the right time, because it can go a long way.

The 2nd kind of praise that is really important is the praise that we offer to God. The Bible tells me that God inhabits the praise of His people.(Psalm 22:3)There is something about praise that gets God’s attention. We can read in the Scripture of how God unlocked the prison doors for Paul and Silas after they praised Him.

Act 16:25

And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.

Act 16:26

And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed.

Their praise led to the miracle of the prison doors being opened and everyone’s chains being loosened and later to the miracle of the Philippian jailer and his household hearing the gospel and receiving salvation. I’m sure it was not easy for Paul and Silas to praise God. They no doubt were in pain after having their backs beaten and thrown into prison, but they still praised God in spite of their circumstances. Most of us have probably never been incarcerated, but there may be times when we are “imprisoned” by depression, anxiety, fear, etc. If we will begin to praise God and focus our attention on Him, He can deliver us out of our personal prison. The neat thing about the story of Paul and Silas was that their praise not only affected them but everyone else who was imprisoned. Everyone in that jail had their chains loosed. When we praise God in the sanctuary, it can cause others to want to praise Him too and get the deliverance that they need. I think God just wanted to remind me today to keep on praising Him, no matter what. Thanks for the reminder, Lord. 🙂

of Israel. hepraises

5 thoughts on “The Power Of Praise

  1. Mom,

    I really liked this post! It reminded me of the song “I Bless Your Name.”

    Glad you liked the post, Jen. I Bless Your Name is a great song too. 🙂

  2. Nothing like praising the Lord. It was a wonderful post, and a great reminder of what our worship and praise has the power to do.

    Thank you, Karen. I’m thankful for what the Lord can do when we praise Him. True worship is the way to spiritual breakthroughs and victories. Hope you have a blessed day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

