Little Things

I’ve been thinking a lot about litte things for the past few weeks. I think it started when I read Unlocked and saw how the main character, Holden Harris took little steps in coming out of his private, autistic world. It really gave me a greater burden to pray for “little” breakthroughs among the young clients with whom I work.

Also, I read a post recently by an evangelist friend of ours which spoke volumes to my heart.  You can read it here.

There have been some little improvements recently that I have seen in my clients.  The past 2 times I went to JC’s house, he spontaneously asked for the bowling pin game without the game even being in sight and before we had even started our “manding time” where I try to entice him to ask for toys or different objects of interest. Last week, when JC was sitting at the table working on an activity, he suddenly got up and started walking toward me. I got up and stood in his pathway and made eye contact with him. He said “Going potty?” to which I replied,  “Oh sure, you can go potty!” He has never asked me before if he could use the restroom, so that was another small victory.

After not being at JV’s house for over 6 weeks, I was scheduled to have a session with him. JV is one of the most difficult clients I have because he is very busy and just all over the place. One of the first things he said when he saw me was “peek a boo”. That helped me to know that he still remembers me, because peek a boo was something special that I did with him.

I have a new client, AB, whom I started working with last week. We were instructed to just do what is called “pairing”(basically playing without putting any demands on the child)for the first week to give him a chance to get used to us. One of the things AB really enjoys is bubbles. On Wednesday, I was at his house, and I was blowing bubbles for him. He gives good eye contact when I do the bubbles. Suddenly the thought came to my mind to pause with the bubble wand at my lips and just give a wide eyed look to AB. He looked at me and said “bubbles” to which I said “good asking for bubbles.” I did this a couple of more times with him and he was still saying “bubbles.” Then without any prompting, he slowly said “I want bubbles.” He did this several times in between laughs and the popping of bubbles.

While I am thankful for the little victories I have seen in my clients, I am even more grateful for the little breakthroughs we are seeing in the spiritual realm. God is definitely doing things in our midst, and it seems like the presence of God in our services is getting stronger. I know this is first of all because people are endeavoring to pray just a little more and then witness a little more.  I feel like God has great things in store for us in 2011. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Carol,
    Your diligence and concern is being rewarded. They sense that you really care for them! A child especially senses when you are being REAL with them! I know this is rewarding for you.

    Blessings and continued revival!
    Pam
    Thank you, Pam. I am excited too, because my daughter got hired on by my company. She will begin her training on the 31st, when we get back from our trip to Texas. That’s a subject for another post that hopefully, I’ll be able to do soon. Blessings to you and your family!

  2. Carol,
    I think you are the perfect person to work with these special children. I hope you are really enjoying this.

    Love,
    Helen
    Thanks, Helen. Yes, I do enjoy what I do. 🙂

  3. Hey, I read an article this morning about a teenage girl who is helping with autistic kids in a group setting for our church. One of the girls is severely autistic and one of the only things that works in helping her connect with others is for someone to sing songs and hymns to her and gently tap out the beat of the song/hymn on her arm or leg.

    Maybe this technique would help with some of your clients? Just thought I would share…
    Hi Kween. Thanks for what you have shared. It does seem like autistic children respond well to music, and I do use it sometimes as a reinforcer(reward)for which they can work.

Leave a Reply

