A Watched Pot Never Boils?

Whoever said “a watched pot never boils” has never made peanut brittle!

The stuff boils and boils for a good 20 minutes before it is done, and then comes the fun part. You add a little butter, baking soda and salt to the mixture and stir like crazy. Then you rush around like a mad woman, spooning the mixture into pie tins as fast as you can so it does not burn, because it’s still cooking in that hot pot. The results – stronger arm muscles, a wonderful aroma that fills the air(providing you haven’t burned it) and something that makes a good fundraiser for the cooler autumn months. I have heard some firmly attest also that the golden streets of heaven are really going to be paved with peanut brittle. Sweet! 😆

4 thoughts on “A Watched Pot Never Boils?

  1. I have never made peanut brittle–too chicken. I do love to eat it when it is offered though. I hope you are right about the streets being paved with peanut brittle! 😉

  2. I LOVE making and eating Paenut Brittle, me personally I like the batches that boil just a little too long, the dark batches that usually get tossed, or in my case….eaten. I like my PB well done, thank you!

Leave a Reply

