I Refuse To Be Part Of Another Generation!

This past week, my family and I were down in Ventura at Pacific Coast Camp. (a combined youth and family camp)We had a wonderful time! The weather was great, the fellowship with brothers and sisters of like precious faith was enjoyable, but for me, the crowning jewel was the awesome preaching and teaching from God’s Holy Word, the Bible. Tuesday morning was especially rich for me. Brother Gary Howard preached a message entitled I Refuse To Be Part Of Another Generation. I am so thankful for the young people in the apostolic ranks that love God, love holiness and by the power of the Holy Ghost are refusing to follow after a sinful, ungodly lifestyle. Apostolic young people, I believe in you, and I am proud of you! I’d like to dedicate this poem to all the youth that live and love Bible truth. May you walk with God in such a way that others of your generation will hunger and thirst for what you have.

I Refuse

 

I refuse to be part of another genearation

that goes down the path that heads to damnation.

Though some go the way that leads to a fall,

m heart is tuned in to the Master’s call.

I confess with righteous indignation;

I refuse to be part of another generation.

The Holy Ghost will aid and assist

to keep me from sin, temptation resist.

I’ll give none a cause to despise my youth;

for I’ll walk on the road of God’s holy truth.

I refuse to be part of another generation

that carries a load of condemnation.

The world with its allurements may beckon.

Deaf to its sound, myself I will reckon.

I’ll cling to the cross. I’ll cling to salvation.

I refuse to be part of another generation.

written 6-24-10

 

Judges 2:7  And the people served the LORD all the days of Joshua, and all the days of the elders that outlived Joshua, who had seen all the great works of the LORD, that he did for Israel.

2:8  And Joshua the son of Nun, the servant of the LORD, died, being an hundred and ten years old.

2:9  And they buried him in the border of his inheritance in Timnathheres, in the mount of Ephraim, on the north side of the hill Gaash.

2:10  And also all that generation were gathered unto their fathers: and there arose another generation after them, which knew not the LORD, nor yet the works which he had done for Israel.

1Timothy 4:12  Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

Romans 6:11  Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.

3 thoughts on “I Refuse To Be Part Of Another Generation!

  1. Sis. Connell,

    I’m so glad your family got to come to camp this year. It was a great one! I know lives were changed for eternity and that is what it’s all about it.

    I have enjoyed your blog for some time, it was great to finally meet you.

    Kathy McElhaney
    Sis. McElhaney, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I enjoyed meeting you too. I am going to be adding you to my blogroll real soon. God bless you as you continue to serve Him!

  2. Mom,

    I loved this poem. 🙂 That message was so powerful and it really got a hold of some young people. I feel like God is about to do great things for us.
    I agree Jen. Victory does not come without a fight, but I do feel that God has great things in store too.

  3. Sis.Connell,
    What an awesome poem! Did you write it? This message was so so good. Thanks for sharing this poem! It’s a good reminder for us to remember the message. 🙂 May God bless you and your family!
    Love, Kate 🙂
    Hi Kate. Yes, I wrote the poem. A lot of the things I write are inspired by messages that I’ve heard. All of them at camp were truly wonderful, and I’m glad we got the CDs, so we can hear them again. God bless you and your family too. Hope you have a Happy 4th of July!
    Love,
    Sis. Connell

Leave a Reply

