Getting Closer

The teenage girl marveled at the testimonies of the elders in her church. Several times she had heard different ones stand up and thank the Lord that He had saved them and kept them for 40+ years. Life hadn’t always been easy, but God had been with them every step of the way. “Wow, what a testimony to be able to serve God all those years! I hope that will be my testimony some day,” thought the teenage girl. At the age of 16, she had repented of her sins, been baptized in the name of Jesus and gloriously filled with the Holy Ghost with the evidence of speaking in other tongues. Although she enjoyed her new found faith in God, she often found herself fighting against the voice of discouragement that roared in her head. It seemed she was bombarded with negative thoughts of not being able to live for the Lord and really please Him. However there were a couple of things that really helped her. The first was her pastor who taught her the importance of casting down those negative voices of doubt and despair and replacing them with the good Word of God. The second was a quote that she read in a book.

“The mighty oak was once a little nut that stood its ground.”

A short time after reading the quote, the young lady found a little acorn and decided to keep it as a reminder of the quote that had encouraged her. For a while, she kept the acorn where she could see it. After moving a few times, the acorn wasn’t in plain sight anymore and was largely forgotten. Through the grace of God that teenage girl grew older, married a godly man and eventually became a mother. Every so often, she would think about the acorn and the elder saints from her first church that had encouraged her so with their testimonies. Time was going on, and she was still living for God! It seemed like before she knew it, she had been living for God for 30 years. It dawned on her that she was getting closer to the testimony that she wanted to have. In a couple of days it will be 31 years that the Lord has kept her.

Actually, I should say that it will be 31 years that the Lord has kept me, for the teenage girl that I mentioned was/is yours truly. On June 16, 1979, I came to God in repentance, was baptized in the lovely name of Jesus and received the Holy Ghost. I am so thankful that God is not only a Saviour, but He is a Keeper as well, and has kept me all these years. Back in my younger years, the devil really tried to convince me that I could not live for God and that I should go back to my old way of life. 31 years later, I would just like to say, IN YOUR FACE, DEVIL!

I’m getting closer to being able to have the testimony I always wanted to have, and if the Lord tarries long enough, and I don’t go by way of the grave, I look forward to the day when I can say…………………………………………….

“God’s been so good to me! 40 years ago He saved me and He has kept me. It hasn’t always been easy, but it has been worth it. He can save you and keep you too!”

2 thoughts on “Getting Closer

  1. Wonderful to hear. It was 41 years in March since the Lord came into my life…and His touch gets sweeter and sweeter through the years. Blessings on your spiritual anniversary.
    Thank you, Karen. You are right. The Lord does get sweeter as the years go by! You’ve got a great testimony too. 41 years with the Lord is awesome!

Leave a Reply

