What Is Truth?

This is  a question that Pontius Pilate asked of Jesus in the New Testament.

Joh 18:37-38

Pilate therefore said unto him, Art thou a king then? Jesus answered, Thou sayest that I am a king. To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth. Every one that is of the truth heareth my voice. Pilate saith unto him, What is truth? And when he had said this, he went out again unto the Jews, and saith unto them, I find in him no fault at all.

 

It’s interesting to me that Jesus did not give an answer to this question, yet we can find other places in the Scripture where Jesus defines truth.

As Jesus was praying for his disciples one day He said,

John17:17

  

Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

 

In another place Jesus says,

Joh 14:6

Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Looking at these Scriptures we may think, “Well, what is truth? The “word” that is mentioned in the first verse or Jesus that is mentioned in the second verse?”

John 1:1 tells us:

John 1:1

 

 

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

If you read down to verse 14 in this chapter, you will discover the identity of this “Word.”

Joh 1:14-17

 

And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me.

And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace.

  For the law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ, whom the Scripture teaches was/is God manifested in the flesh and the words He speaks are truth. I’m not some great theologian, and I won’t pretend to be, but this is the foundation upon which I base my life and my beliefs.

It’s my desire to be like that wise man that Jesus talked about in the book of Matthew.

Matthew 7:24-25

 

Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock:

And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock.

“My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”
by Edward Mote, 1797-1874

1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

One thought on “What Is Truth?

Leave a Reply

