Death To Life

Year after year, the wonder of spring never ceases to amaze me. I can be driving down my street, and all of a sudden I realize that trees which looked so dead just a short time ago are now alive with buds and blossoms. How does that happen? I don’t know, but God does. He’s the designer of the trees, and He is faithful to cause them to bud and bloom when the time is right.

Even more thrilling to me is when God causes things(or should I say people)to bloom and blossom in the spiritual realm. There are people who walk our streets with a look of “deadness”. Looking at them from the outward appearance, you might never be able to guess that something is happening down deep in their hearts. There is a hunger for something more, a hunger for a God that is real. I’ve been blessed to see some of those people who looked so hardened come to life as they began to pour out their hearts to God in true repentance, follow in obedience to the command to be baptized and gloriously receive the gift of the Holy Ghost. The outward appearance of a person is not an indicator of what is going on inside their hearts, and God used the blooming trees in our neighborhood to remind me of this once again. Even after we are born again as the Scripture teaches, we may go through periods of seeming “deadness”. Maybe we can’t feel the presence of God like we once used to or it may seem like we are not growing spiritually. However, just as there are seasons in the natural, so there are in the spiritual, and if we keep holding onto God and seeking Him, He will cause us to bloom when the time is right.  I just want to be in tune with His seasons. Don’t you?

Ecclesiastes 3:1To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

 

 

5 thoughts on “Death To Life

  1. How beautifully said Carol. Wish everyone could read your heart today. It is vibrant, and alive. I will feed on it for days.

    Thank you, Karen. I wish my heart could always be in tune with God’s Spirit, but I guess as long as I have this sinful nature, it will be a struggle. Perhaps my next post will illustrate what I’m trying to say. Anyhow, I’m glad you stopped by, as it is always a pleasure to hear from you. 🙂

  2. How does that happen? I don’t know, but God does. He’s the designer of the trees, and He is faithful to cause them to bud and bloom when the time is right.

    You could learn how it happens rather than attribute natural processes to supernatural designs.

    The same is true to live authentic lives: we can learn how to do that to be part and parcel of our natural world and create lives of meaning and purpose rather than try to be separate from it by believing in supernatural meaning and theological purpose.

    I know there is a natural process and a scientific explanation as to how the budding of a tree takes place, but I believe that God causes that natural process to take place, so I attribute it to Him. Are you saying my life is not authentic and does not have meaning and purpose because I choose to believe in the supernatural?

    1. God “causes?” Your attribution is an unjustified truth claim. And that really matters not to me so much as to yourself, to your own ability to use your critical faculties and reason well.

      A belief requires reasonable justification to inform it if it is to be respected as a legitimate claim to something true. Truth claims made on behalf of unjustified beliefs are problematic because they are not reasonable. To then base one’s purpose and meaning in life on unreasonable claims cannot be authentic; the purpose and meaning is borrowed as if it were true (but we cannot justify it) rather than established (we can justify it) because it is true, which means one does not own/select/choose/set one’s meaning or purpose if borrowed but lives as if it was some kind of conditional grant linked always and inevitably to the unjustified belief itself rather than one’s self. This is both disrespectful and dishonest to living an authentic life. Such a life may have all the appearances of being authentic but is entirely conditional on the unjustified belief. So yes, I am saying that you cannot have an authentic life with honest purpose and honest meaning if you choose to base that life on belief in the supernatural.

      Put a slightly different way, if you knew for sure that the supernatural did not exist, was false, was and remains nothing more than a figment of the imagination, and someone you knew and loved based their meaning and purpose in life on that wrong assumption, would you say that their day to day life was authentic as they directed their every action and decision on what you knew was nothing but fiction?

      Well, we obviously have a difference of opinion here, which is fine. We all have to decide for ourselves what we believe. If you’ve come with the intent to try and convince me that the supernatural does not exist, you’ve come too late. God has proven Himself to me over and over again in ways that I am not going to expound upon right now. I could not imagine my life without God as part of it and don’t even wish to explore the possibility. If indeed there is a supernatural realm and a real God that exists(which I believe there is)all the arguments in the world would not cause His existence to cease.

      1. Really? I will hold you to that and bother to respond:

        Then why are you abusing the notion of ‘belief’ as if justified and unjustified beliefs mean the same thing regarding what is true? They don’t.

        A justified belief has more to inform it than simply a choice; usually it requires at a minimum a preponderance of evidence to establish what is probably true, probably correct, probably accurate. It is from this preponderance of evidence we draw a conclusion that informs the belief.

        ‘Belief’ in this sense is used to express probabilities. You usually leave your keys on the counter and you believe that is where they should be. If they are not, then your reasoning becomes suspect if you insist that the keys are still on the counter even when they are not, when there is no evidence to inform that assertion. Your reasoning becomes broken if you maintain the original belief after finding your keys in your purse. ‘Belief’ in this sense is conditional on what is true, and what is true is conditional on the evidence that informs it.

        So when I write that truth matters to me, I base that conclusion on respecting the process of informing my beliefs with something more than assertions and assumptions I favour – regardless of my reasons for favouring them; my beliefs are informed by evidence of what’s probably true, probably correct, probably accurate.

        I significantly doubt that you lend much weight to believing what is true when you inform your beliefs without concern for what is probably true, probably correct, probably accurate. I write that because you indicate that merely believing in a supernatural realm and real god is as legitimate a belief as is one informed by evidence indicative of what is probably true, probably correct, probably accurate.

        Your continued belief is therefore unjustified because it has no evidence to inform it – no evidence for a supernatural realm, no evidence for a real
        ‘ god’ (I dare you to even attempt to define the term) – and not changing your belief is a clear indication that you do not value truth as much as you value your unjustified beliefs.

        That assertion I make – that truth does NOT matter to you – should cause you significant cognitive dissonance.

        The assertion that you make that truth does NOT matter to me does not cause me any cognitive dissonance. Being that it appears I’m not as educated as you are, I had to go to the dictionary to look up cognitive and dissonance so that I would be sure I knew what you were trying to say. Truth does matter to me, and my source of truth is the Bible which claims to be divinely inspired and infallible.(2 Timothy 3:16). I see that the name of your blog is “questionable motives”, and I’m beginning to think your motives are questionable by the comments you have left here. Are you really motivated to know truth or are you simply attmepting to make me look like a buffoon for my belief in God and possibly sow seeds of doubt in the minds of other professing Christians who may read here? Being as you’ve made it clear that you do not believe in God and the supernatural, I doubt that you would be commenting with a real concern for the quality of my life here and my eternal soul. I don’t mean to be rude, but I find it somewhat arrogant of you to be questioning my integrity. I am a complete stranger to you, and you seem to want to set yourself up as some kind of judge. Please do not take the time to leave any more comments, as I will not be publishing any more of them. My purpose and intent for starting this blog was not endless questioning and debate which leads to nowhere.

        Sincerely,
        Carol

Leave a Reply

