Surprise Party

Yesterday was a day I have been looking forward to for a long time. We had a surprise 50th birthday party for my sister Karen. It actually wasn’t a total surprise. She did kind of suspect that something was going to happen. Last year Karen threw 2 surprise parties for a couple of special people that were turning 50. One of them was her husband Mike, and the other one was my husband. There were a couple of things at this party though that were surprises for Karen. The first one was that my brother John and his family and my brother Bob were at the party. They were able to come via Skype(webcam). When Karen showed up at her son’s house and the door to the house was open Bob, John and his family were there on the computer screen yelling “surprise!”.

The second surprise was that Mike had arranged a week long trip for him and Karen to go to Hawaii. They are in Oahu now as I type and will spend a few days there and then go to the Big Island. One of the really fun things about this party is that each of us siblings put on a skit about something we remember from our childhood with Karen. It was hilarious acting those things out and reliving the memories. Playing Pin The Reading Glasses On The 50 Year Old was a hoot too. I’ll post some pictures below.

5 thoughts on “Surprise Party

  1. Sounds like it was a lot of fun. And what an awesome surprise to have family “present” on the computer, and a trip to Hawaii to boot!

    Hi Kweenmama. Yes, we had a great time.

  2. Happy Birthday to Karen. Looks like a wonderful time. How I wish I’d had a sister to enjoy birthdays with. In fact, I would have taken a brother. An only child misses a lot of happy times through life that only a brother or sister could fill that void.

  3. Isn’t it fun to coordinate events with your siblings? I’m 1000 miles from my sister and brother, but we still manage to coordinate events especially things for our mother.
    Yes Helen, it is fun. I’m glad my brother Bob had the idea to do the webcams. It was nice to be able to have them at the party too.

  4. Awwww…how fun and wonderful! Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed this surprise too. 😉 What a wonderful, blessed family.
    Hi Tena. Yes, it was a great party, and I feel very blessed to have the family that God gave me. Thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

  5. A belated happy birthday to Karen. Sounds like a delightful party; such a happy, tremendous family. Love and miss you.

    Hi Sis. Buxton. Yes, it was a wonderful party, and Karen and Mike had a great time in Hawaii. I’m glad they are back now, because it looks like Hawaii is going to be hit with tsunamis, due to the bad earthquake they had in Chile earlier.

Leave a Reply

