Storms

The past couple of weeks we’ve had quite a bit of rainy, stormy weather in our neck of the woods. While I like a little rain sometimes, I find that when it seems to go on and on, it is harder to motivate myself to do things, and I long to see the sun shine again. During this time of inclement weather, I was blessed to see 4 rainbows. I don’t know about you, but I don’t see rainbows very often, so when I do get to see one, I really enjoy it. It’s almost like a little reward for enduring what seems like non stop precipitation. I’m glad that storms do not go on forever, just as I’m glad that stormy trials that God sends our way are not unceasing. God has a purpose for our trials. Each one has a beginning and an ending, and if we will just hold on to God through the storm, we will come out victoriously. As I was musing on this, I wrote this poem.  Thank God that no matter what the storm in our lives, He does have control, and when the time is right, the storm will pass.

The storms arise, the storms pass by.

Sometimes we stop and wonder why,

and of their purpose, we surmise.

The storms pass by, the storms arise.

Our trials come just like the storms

into our lives in different forms.

Things may look dark and rather glum.

Just like the storms, our trials come.

Hold onto God. You’ll come out fine.

After the squall, the sun will shine.

On dry ground you’ll once again trod.

You’ll come out fine. Hold onto God.

Psalm 107:29  

 

He maketh the storm a calm, so that the waves thereof are still.

 1Peter 4:12   

Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:

 2Corinthians 4:17   

For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;

    1Peter 5:10
But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.
3 thoughts on “Storms

  1. How important to trust Him in time of storms. If we will look at the rain as cleansing, and the thunder/lightening as God trying to get our attention – we will realize just how much He cares.

    Amen, Karen!

  2. Awesome poem mom. I really liked that, it is encouraging.

    Glad you like it, Jen. I’m even more glad that you know the One who is in control of the storms. 🙂

Leave a Reply

