New Spin On An Old Habit

Do you ever talk to yourself? I know I do sometimes. As I read this Scripture, I thought I might institute a new practice.

Eph 5:19

Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord;

Alot of times when I talk to myself, it’s after I make a mistake, and I’ll say something like, “Carol, that was so stupid!” I think the next time I do something dumb, I will try quoting a psalm(or at least part of one)or singing a good old hymn or chorus.  Anyone want to join me?

4 thoughts on “New Spin On An Old Habit

  1. Lol! I talk to myself whenever I do something “stupid” too. Glad to know I’m not the only one! 🙂 What a great idea to quote a psalm or hymn. I think I’ll have to try that.

  2. I did this!!!! I noticed a few years ago that the more stressed I would get, I would sart talking to myself, or if I was mad at someone, I’d ‘tell them’ what I would say if I could do it with a clear conscience. (always in the car alone, of course ;))

    The Spirit convicted me to pray instead of doing this, it is healthier… and well, I ‘needed’ to pray A LOT at first! But then life just started to settle down… more like I settled down. We can get ourselves so wrapped up in our ‘selves’.

    This is a cool post! Thank you!!!
    Hi Cindy. Glad to know I’m not alone in talking to myself when I make mistakes.

  3. Hi, Carol. Thanks for peeking in on us over at Grace FULL days. I couldn’t agree more about sharing those WONDER FULL moments with our youngsters.

    Congratulations on the newest edition to the Contino clan. That Malachi is a cutie pie.

    Regarding this post, I’ve been thinking about finding a suitable phrase to use when I really feel like I’m holding my stupid sign. You blog post has given me just the ump I’ve needed to stopping thinking & start doing. Thanks!

    Hi Carmen. Thanks for stopping by. Malachi is adorable. I wish we lived closer to him. Glad you found this post helpful. Hope you and the Gracie girl have a wonder-filled 2010. 🙂

Leave a Reply

