Could This Be The Year?

This could be the year of our Lord’s return;

blessed event, for which every true Christian does yearn.

In a moment and twinkling of an eye,

Jesus will split that eastern sky.

May we have the spiritual sense to discern

this could be the year of our Lord’s return.

So let us abide both sure and steady;

keeping our hearts right and Rapture ready.

Each day His appearing draws ever more near;

the best choice, to walk straight in godly fear.

This could be the year of our Lord’s return.

Chew on this thought, in your mind, let it churn.

Help us work for you, Lord, like never before;

reaching out to the lost, while there’s still an open door.

With passion, this truth in our souls must burn.

This could be the year of our Lord’s return!

Written 1-1-10

 

Hebrews 10:23  Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;)

Matthew 24:44  Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of man cometh.

Luke 12:40  Be ye therefore ready also: for the Son of man cometh at an hour when ye think not.

Romans 13:11  And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed.

13:12  The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light.

13:13  Let us walk honestly, as in the day; not in rioting and drunkenness, not in chambering and wantonness, not in strife and envying.

13:14  But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof.

Hebrews 3:13  But exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin.

Jude 1:21  Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.

1:22  And of some have compassion, making a difference:

1:23  And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh.

Luke 21:34  And take heed to yourselves, lest at any time your hearts be overcharged with surfeiting, and drunkenness, and cares of this life, and so that day come upon you unawares.

21:35  For as a snare shall it come on all them that dwell on the face of the whole earth.

21:36  Watch ye therefore, and pray always, that ye may be accounted worthy to escape all these things that shall come to pass, and to stand before the Son of man.

Hebrews 9:28  So Christ was once offered to bear the sins of many; and unto them that look for him shall he appear the second time without sin unto salvation.

Titus 2:11  For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men,

2:12  Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;

2:13  Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ;

4 thoughts on “Could This Be The Year?

  1. I don’t mean to start a war (and please don’t flame me, anyone), but does every “true” Christian yearn for Jesus to come back?

    I’m sure that many hope He’ll wait so that more can come to know Him, because even though many will be happy when He comes back, still more will see the beginning of an eternity in hell, right?

    Hi Megan. You bring up a good point here. Every true Christian probably does not yearn for the Lord’s return. I probably should have used the word “should” instead of does, and I may make a revision later. I do believe that every Christian should long for Jesus to return, but that probably is not the case is it? I believe there are several reasons for that. First of all, it seems the coming of the Lord is hardly ever preached about or sung about in a lot of churches. When was the last time you heard a song such as Soon and Very Soon, He’s Coming Soon, When The Redeemed Are Gathering In or When We All Get To Heaven sung in a worship service? Second of all, I believe that many get too caught up and too comfortable with our lives here on earth. The Bible tells us in Colossians 3:2 to set our affections on things above and not on things of this earth. If Jesus is number 1 in our lives, and we realize that this world is not our final home and we are strangers and pilgrims on this earth, then should we not look forward to His coming? The Bible also compares the church to a bride and Jesus, the bridegroom. What bride does not look forward to the day when she will be united with the groom?

    I understand too those hoping that the Lord will delay His coming so that more can be saved. I have family and friends that I know would be lost if Jesus did come today. At the same time, the Lord is not going to put off His coming forever, and even if He waited another 10 years, there will still be many that will be lost. As time goes on things are becoming and will continue to become more increasingly hostile for Christians. It’s really a challenge to live in a world(and try to raise children in a world)where ungodliness is paraded in every form of media, abortion is okay and just another form of birth control, and if you don’t believe it’s morally right to live a homosexual lifestyle you’re painted as some kind of uncompassionate villian.

    Anyhow, I’ve gone on kind of long here, but I just wanted to give you an understanding of my thinking behind this poem. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment, Megan. Hope you will have a blessed 2010.

  2. I’m with you Carol. Oh, I want to see Him, look upon His face. I say, Lord complete your work quickly, and then let us partake in the Marriage Supper of the Lamb. Happy New Year Blessings to you.

  3. Hi Carol,

    Lots of stuff for thought, but just one reply:

    “If Jesus is number 1 in our lives, and we realize that this world is not our final home and we are strangers and pilgrims on this earth, then should we not look forward to His coming?”

    I think your conclusion does not logically follow the question. I can love Jesus and realize that the world isn’t my final home. This doesn’t mean I have to hope for Him to return. If I have a true and vibrant relationship with Him, then I am, in a way, already with Him. Also, as a Christian, I am to be part of the church – part of the body of Christ. Jesus was marked – very radically – by His immense love for those who would be marked as “unsavoury” by the world. As part of His body, I would do good to cultivate mercy, compassion, and love. In this way I show my love by wishing for more time to help other people know Him.

    This is why I believe that, while all Christians should yearn for the end of sin, all Christians are not required to yearn for Jesus’ return. The church is diverse. Every person is called to a different mission, and it’s dangerous to say “should” or “must” when speaking about such a large group, unless this can be directly backed up by an in-context verse of the Bible.

    But anyways, (wow, my reply has turned into something almost as long as yours!) thank you for taking the time to reply. You’ve given me some things to think about. (Especially your comment about the church/hymns.)

    Best wishes!
    Megan

    Hi Megan,

    I thought of something that Paul said as I read what you wrote here.

    Philippians 1:21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.
    1:22 But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labor: yet what I shall choose I wot not.
    1:23 For I am in a strait between two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better:
    1:24 Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you.

    Paul had a desire to live for God and help others here on this earth, but he also had a strong desire to be with Christ(which would come by way of his death). I guess I kind of feel the same way too. I want to be useful to God and help others to know Him while I’m here on this earth, but at the same time, I look forward to His coming, which will not abolish sin totally at that point, but for His church, the struggle will be over. I really do have a wonderful life here on earth, for which I thank God, but yet at the same time, I do grow weary of some of the trials here on earth, whether they be financial, physical, emotional or just dealing with my own sinful nature that constantly tries to rear its ugly head. Also, I look forward to the privilege of having unbroken fellowship with Jesus. There won’t be the distractions and hindrances that we have down here and no more opposition from the enemy of our souls!

    So, I do look forward to the return of Jesus, but until He comes I want to strive to do what He said.(which could be another whole post.) Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

    Blessings,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

