Sorrow or Joy

Today was kind of a strange day for me. I woke up still feeling very tired and really not in the mood at all to go to work. I prayed, got dressed and headed out to my morning session. When I got to R’s house, his mother informed me that he was not feeling the greatest. His nose was running, he was coughing some, crying intermittently and clinging a lot to mom. I tried to facilitate communication with him by bringing out a new toy. That lasted for about 5 minutes, and then he was just miserable. After talking with his mom, she decided it was probably best not to continue the session. R actually fell asleep about 5 minutes before I left.  I wasn’t upset about not getting all my hours for that sesssion. Actually, I was overjoyed to be able to leave early and go take care of some errands. I wasn’t glad that my client was sick, but his sickness, which is not pleasant for him, gave me time to take care of some business and have a little time to relax. Later in the day as I was getting ready to go to my afternoon session, I decided to check my work e-mail. Low and behold, I found that my other client had cancelled for today too. This child is also sick. I’m not happy that he is sick, but I found myself rejoicing again that I would be able to have a little more time to do some things around the house. As I was reflecting upon these events, I began to think how an occurence in a life can cause different reactions for different people. I thought about a great pioneer missionary who died recently.  Nona Freeman passed from this life on December 27, 2009 at the ripe old age of 93. This amazing lady had been a missionary to Africa along with her husband and had faithfully served the Lord in the ministry for 70 years. For her family and those who were her close friends, there is definitely some sorrow involved. It’s hard to say good-bye to someone who has been an important part of your life.  How does God feel about the death of this dear lady? I believe the following verse of Scripture would answer the question.

Psalm  116:15Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.

 

 

Not every death is precious to the Lord, because we read in the book of Ezekiel….

Eze 33:11Say unto them, As I live, saith the Lord GOD, I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked; but that the wicked turn from his way and live: turn ye, turn ye from your evil ways; for why will ye die, O house of Israel?

 

I imagine that every day the heart of God is grieved by those who did not serve Him passing into an eternity that is a hopeless end, but those who serve the Lord in truth and die in Christ have an endless hope and a wonderful eternity of unbroken fellowship with Jesus! Because we are human, there will always be an element of sorrow involved with death, even if the person who dies was ready to meet the Lord. However, in God’s eyes, the death of the saint who faithfully served Him is something valuable, something He treasures.

When our time comes to pass from this life, will we bring God sorrow or joy?  By His grace, I plan to be one of those in whom He will take pleasure.

 

5 thoughts on “Sorrow or Joy

  1. Good thoughts on the Lord’s view of death! Last I had read of Nona Freeman (on Sis. Buxton’s blog on 12-19-09), she had not yet passed on but wasn’t expected to live much longer. She’ll be one of the ones who’ll rise first at the Lord’s coming!

  2. “New day, new blessings. Don’t let yesterday’s failures ruin the beauty of today. Blessings of God are new every morning. Today has its own promise of love, forgiveness, joy and success.Happy New Year!”

    Happy New Year to you too, Zing!

  3. I frequently wonder how a situation I’m dealing with is being dealt with by someone else. Kind of like when you lose a loved one, and you’re dealing with the grief, yet the world keeps spinning, people go on about their lives as if nothing happened.

    When Emma doesn’t feel well, her mama stays home from work and I have the day to myself. I always feel bad for the baby, yet, that quiet time is so needed.

    Hi Holly. I guess there are really two sides to most situations of life. It kind of depends on how you look at things that determines which side you are on. Hope that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

