The Center Of Our Lives

tabernacle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This past week has been super busy for me, (thus, the lack of blogging)but the instructional training for my new job is now completed.  I did have an opportunity this Tuesday to teach my home Bible study, which has been on hold for a few weeks. We talked mostly about the plan for the building of the tabernacle that God gave to Moses in the Old Testament. Studying the tabernacle is always fascinating to me. If you study it out, you can see that the tabernacle is really a type or foreshadowing of New Testament salvation. It seems like everytime I study the tabernacle, something new jumps out at me. When you look at the picture of the tabernacle, you can see that it is surrounded by tents. God gave the Israelites specific instructions on where they were to camp and set up their tents. Certain groups were assigned to the north, south, east and west of the tabernacle.  So every morning when those Israelites woke up and looked out of their tents, what would they see? They saw the tabernacle, the place where the presence of God dwelt!God was literally in the center of them, and I don’t believe that was an accident.

I believe it’s still God’s desire to be the center of our lives. The question is, will we let Him have that place? If we’re not careful we can let things or reponsibilities or even people take that number 1 position in our hearts that God wants to fill. I can usually tell when I’m “off center.”  It seems like the first thing to go is my joy.  I may start feeling stressed or a little depressed or snap easily at my loved ones, and most of the time when this happens, if I’m really honest with myself, I can see that I have let something slip. Perhaps I’ve gotten so busy that I’ve allowed myself to miss out on daily prayer a few times or I begin to neglect my Bible reading. Thank God He is merciful enough to let us know when we are “drifting”, and if we’ll heed His voice, we can repent and get our heart back to the place where it needs to be.

So, I guess I’m writing this to remind myself and anyone else that may need it to strive to keep the Lord at the center of our lives. I can’t afford to put God on the back burner, because it not only affects me, but it can affect others that the Lord may want to use me to reach.  Help me Lord, to keep you smack dab in the middle of my world!

In closing, I wanted to share another cool thing about the tabernacle. If you were up in an airplane or helicopter and you could look down at the formation of the tabernacle and the way the Israelites were encamped around it, it would look like a giant cross. God is so good with object lessons!

Hebrews 10:1 For the law having a shadow of good things to come, and not the very image of the things, can never with those sacrifices which they offered year by year continually make the comers thereunto perfect

 

 

Luke 24:44

 

And he said unto them, These are the words which I spake unto you, while I was yet with you, that all things must be fulfilled, which were written in the law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the psalms, concerning me.(Jesus)

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Center Of Our Lives

  1. Thanks for the lesson and the insight, Carol. It was a good way to start a Monday morning

    Hi Becky. I think the tabernacle plan is incredible. I love the way it relates to things in the New Testament. For instance, each piece of furniture in the tabernacle relates to something about Jesus in the New Testament. Time and space won’t allow me to go into it now, but it really is an interesting study.

  2. I can always feel when I’ve “moved” and God is no longer in the center. And you are right, He is so good to let me know when I’m a bit “off” so that I can get back to where I need to be. Great post!

    Thanks, Kween.

  3. I’ve attended Bible studies about the Tabernacle. It’s quite interesting. I agree with you that God is good with object lessons.

    Martin
    Hi Martin. Several years ago when my husband was teaching a teen Sunday school class, he taught them about the tabernacle. Together they made a small scale model of the tabernacle which was actually pretty elaborate. Each student was assigned to write a paper on a particular piece of furniture. Our pastor liked what they were doing and had them present it to the church. It was really neat.

    1. Wow! That must have been wonderful. In our church, they taught us using pictures… large enough for the entire congregation.

      The funny thing about it though was it was displayed in a long plexiglass case that was about as big as a small coffin. This was sitting in front of the platform. I remember one particular man telling us later that when he first walked in the church, he thought there was going to be a funeral.

  4. Good morning. We can never over-emphasize the need to ensure that the Lord is in the center of our lives and the picture of the tabernacle is a perfect ecample. I’m reminded of the New Jerusalem; where God himself will be the very light thereof and we will be gathered in his presence. (Woo Hoo; Joy Spike!)

    Something else came to mind also. I guess it’s been over a year ago when I was talking with Phil McAlmond. One of his first indicators of being in need of prayer was his grandkids. They would pick up on drifting and in the course of events, one would finally speak up “Grandpa; I think you need to go pray.” He stated that the grandkids were always right on.

    Thanks for a most needed reminder. Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

    Hi Timbob. I too have had times where my kids have said things like, “Boy, you’re really grouchy today!”Those were indicators to me too, that I wasn’t where I should be and needed to go pray. I’m glad God prompts us with these gentle reminders. Thanks for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

