No, Don’t Let Him Out!!

Wait a minute, what are you doing? You can’t go out there. Stay inside the church, right where you are supposed to worship God. If you go out there, people are going to see you, and worse yet, they’re going to hear you. Aren’t you embarrassed? What are the folks driving by going to think of you? You know, you might get in trouble with the city. If you’re too loud out here, somebody could file a complaint against you.  People are going to think you are really weird when they see you lifting your hands and clapping your hands. This just isn’t normal Sunday behavior, you know.

 

I’m sure the devil would have liked to interject these thoughts or similar ones into our minds, but he did not prevail. I can’t explain everything that happened in church today, but God definitely wanted us to break outside of our building and worship Him out in the open.  It was exhilirating and liberating.  Thinking about it later, I wish the Oakley Press had driven by and taken some pictures.  However, being on the main drag of town, there were plenty of cars that drove by, and I can’t help but think that there was someone out there that needed to see people who were not ashamed to worship God.  Perhaps there will be some whose curiosity was so piqued by what they saw that they will feel compelled to come and  find out more.

The early church didn’t limit God to a churchhouse. They met in homes, by the river, on the streets and just about anywhere.  This is what the Bible has to say about Jesus’ disciples after He had resurrected and appeared to them.

MarK 16:19,20

So then after the Lord had spoken unto them, he was received up into heaven, and sat on the right hand of God. And they went forth, and preached every where, the Lord working with them, and confirming the word with signs following. Amen.

I do believe in having a place of worship where we can meet on a consistent and regular basis, but I don’t want to be guilty of confining God to 4 walls. Neither do I want to keep Jesus locked in my heart, where nobody else can see Him, but I want to open my mouth more and tell others just how good He has been to me. Lord, we heard you loud and clear today, and we are letting you out!

2 thoughts on “No, Don’t Let Him Out!!

  1. Did anyone honk or wave? I wish I could have seen it! 🙂

    I’m not sure about the honks and waves. I wasn’t really paying much attention to the traffic, but I’m sure we got some looks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

