Going, Going……………..

not quite gone, but it was close. This has been an interesting week for our family. It’s not every week that you come within a day of losing your house through foreclosure and having it sold. The sale was supposed to be on Thursday, but through prayer and lots of phone calls, faxes and e-mails, the sale was stopped, and we’ve been given a 30 day reprieve while our paperwork is being reviewed.  The week began with both of the kids getting sick. Our first day of school was supposed to be Tuesday, but that didn’t quite happen as planned. Friday morning, we sprung a leak in our bathroom while my husband was shaving. Fortunately, my husband was able to fix it with some parts from Home Depot that only cost a little over $12. Today, we received a call that another church which is about 1/2 a block away was on fire. We were concerned that it might spread and reach our building. The neighboring church ended up losing their preschool facility before the fire was finally contained. Because our air conditioner was on at the time, we did have some smoke get into our building, but it doesn’t appear that it will cause any lasting damage.

Even in the midst of all of this, God has been extremely good to us! No matter how bad our circumstances may get at times, there is always something for which we can be thankful.  These are some Scriptures that have come to mind this week.

Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

 

All things that happen to us are not good, but God can work them for our good if we will put our trust in Him.

Romans 8:31“What shall we then say to these things? If God

be for us, who can be against us?”

Gen 42:36

 

 

“And Jacob their father said unto them, Me have ye bereaved of my children: Joseph is not, and Simeon is not, and ye will take Benjamin away: all these things are against me.”

 

If you know the story of Joseph and how things turned out for him in the end, you can see that Jacob was wrong in what he said here. These things were not against him. God had a plan. Jacob just couldn’t see it at the time.

I’m glad God has a plan for our lives, even when we experience adverse circumstances or don’t understand why things are happening to us.  I’m also thankful for two verses in Proverbs that have been an anchor for me over the years.

Proverbs 3:5,6

 

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”  

There is no safer place to be than in His hands! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Going, Going……………..

  1. Oh Sister, praying for you and your family. With my husband forced into retirement it hasn’t been easy and sometimes we’re wondering what’s around the corner. But we can only take one day at a time. My heart goes out to you and I wish I could help you financially!
    Thank you so much for your prayers. I really do appreciate that. Things may be difficult, but I really do have confidence that God will see us through. I will keep you and your husband in my prayers too.

  2. I have always loved the story of Joseph. It is wonderful to see how God worked in the lives of Jacob’s family to help them in the future. I’m sure it wasn’t easy for Jacob or Joseph to experience what they did, but in the end they could see God’s hand in their lives.

    I, too, will pray for you and your family.

    Hi Kween. The story of Joseph is just so incredible. It seems like everytime I read it, there is something new that stands out to me. I thank you also for your prayers.

  3. Good morning. (Seriously; it’s 4:20 am) It’s always fascinating when the Lord works a deliverance. Without a doubt, Psalm 37:25 is more real than any threatenings that eminate from the physical realm. I will keep you all in prayer.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

    Hi Timbob. Thanks for your prayers and for mentioning Psalm 37:25. I couldn’t remember off the top of my head what it was, so I looked it up. I’m so glad that God is a faithful provider. May you have a blessed day.

  4. ohhh… so glad to hear of the sale…. my parents will lose their home in October, if it isn’t sold. I am glad to hear your story. Blesings!

    Hi Cindy. I pray that things will work out for your parents. God is certainly able. We may still lose our home, but at least we have a little time to look at some other options. I know God will work all things together for good. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Thank you for your post. This has been a timely reminder to me that we each have our struggles that present to test our inner fortitude and faith in a greater plan than we could ever be aware of.

    I wish you and your family the best.

    Colleen

    Hi Colleen. Yes, we all do have our struggles, no matter how “together” we may appear outwardly. There is a quote I really like that says that “man’s extremity is God’s opportunity.” Life’s tests and trials can really be opportunities for us to know God in a greater dimension. If only we could remember this when it seems like we’re being overwhelmed by our situation! That is the real challenge. Thanks for stopping by today and offering your kind wishes for our family. 🙂

  6. Sis. Connell, You are in my prayers. I know that God has it all under control and all things will work for the good. This I have no doubt. I have just gone through one of the toughest and longest trials in my life. My heart was so heavy and burdened that at times I literally thought I could not stand. But God saw me through it all. Though things did not turn out the way I thought they would, I now see things in a different light and know beyond a shadow of doubt that “ALL things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

    He is so faithful and just. He knows what is best for us. The best thing about Him is that He will never leave us nor forsake us, but will be right by our side through it all, holding our hand. Oh, what a friend we have in Jesus. Yes, everything will be alright.

    Love you sis, and praying for you all.

    Hi Jolene. Thank you so much for your encouraging words and your prayers. I know that God will work all things together for good, and He will receive the glory. Love you too!

Leave a Reply

