You Might Be In A Lively Apostolic Church If

IMG_5632

 

 

 

 

 

 

there are scuff marks on the baseboards in the sanctuary. Apostolic worship is exuberant. Sometimes it’s so exuberant that people run around the aisles in worship to the Lord. If you really get going and the momentum is building, you may take a corner a little too fast, and thus, leave a scuff mark.

Having been raised Catholic, when I first visited a Pentecostal church, I was scared to death. I was taught that worship was a quiet silent thing, but when I began studying the Bible, I found that that was not the case. Meditation is a quiet, silent time, but praise and worship is active.

Psalm 47:1

 <To the chief Musician, A Psalm for the sons of Korah.> O clap your hands, all ye people; shout unto God with the voice of triumph.

Psalm 134:2

 Lift up your hands in the sanctuary, and bless the LORD.

   Psa 149:3Let them praise his name in the dance: let them sing praises unto him with the timbrel and harp.

 1Timothy 2:8 I will therefore that men pray every where, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting.

 

I’ve known people before who thought it was silly and ridiculous to get all excited about God. Sometimes you see people at sporting events go absolutely ballistic when their team scores a touchdown or homerun or goal. Folks can jump out of their seats and send popcorn or soda flying everywhere, and people think nothing of it. Why should I get excited about God? He only shed His blood on the cross for my sins, forgave me, gave me a hope of going to Heaven, has given me righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Ghost, etc. etc. etc.  Jesus is worthy to be praised!

The Bible says to praise Him according to His excellent greatness. (Psalm 150:2) I don’t think I can really do that while I’m here on this earth. That’s something that is going to take all of eternity to do, but while I’m here on this terra firma, I certainly want to try to do that, and as long as I’m physically able, I’m going to enjoy the practice! 🙂

7 thoughts on “You Might Be In A Lively Apostolic Church If

  1. Let the praises ring!

    To me there are few things that help one to reallize how free we are in the Lord aside from dancing in the Spirit and shouting praises to the King!

    I miss that type of worship, at least in the corporate sense. I have been out of the church for a couple of years now. That’s a very long story and let me say that no, I am not against the church. But I find the one thing I miss the most is worshipping amongst the saints.

    Oh, and let me also say that I am enjoying following your blog. Have an amazing day. Be on the lookout for a miracle!

    Hi Michael. In my opinion, there are few things as good as sitting together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus, worshipping God in spirit and in truth with brothers and sister of like precious faith. Hope you have a very good day too, and yes, I am looking for a miracle!

  2. Sooooo…are you the one who left the scuff marks? 😉

    Hi Kween. I’m pretty sure it was one of the guys. Men’s dress shoes tend to leave scuff marks. I know our kitchen floor at home gets scuffed up quite often, and it’s usually from my husband or son’s dress shoes.

  3. Ha! I laughed whe I read of your first time at your catholic upbringing and reaction to the difference of worship… i know, I understand. and agree… and I think in this whole big Body of Christ we all have a place and a purpose. you serve yours beautifully, with dignity and life giving…

    Hi Cindy. I chuckle too sometimes when I think about how scared I was. It took the Word of God to show me that it was needless fear. It it true that there is a purpose for everyone in the body of Christ, just as all the parts of our physical body have a purpose. I don’t feel I always serve my purpose well, but I don’t ever want to stop trying, even if I fall flat on my face at times. Thanks so much for stopping by today.

  4. Being Apostolic is exciting, and offers us such a variety of praise – but to let go and let God have His way certainly brings on the dance.

    Hi Karen. Amen to what you have said. Jesus is worthy of all the praise we can give Him and more!

  5. Love this post! The bulletin board I did this month in the foyer is “I Won’t Let The Rocks Cry Out In My Place” There are some rocks scattered around and 3 of them are praising the Lord. One is saying “HOLY, HOLY, HOLY”, another is crying out “Hallelujah”, and the last one is saying; “Glory to God in the Highest”. All of this is suppose to represent the fact that there are those who are not worshiping God so therefore the rocks are crying out in their place.

    No rock is going to take my place. I’m gonna worship my God. He’s done sooooo much for me I could never tell it all. He deserves ALL my praise and more. I may not be able to run the isles and leave a few suff marks, but I’m still able to walk the isles and praise Him.

    Jolene, I like bulletin boards that preach. Yours sounds really neat. I don’t want a rock to take my place either. We may not always be able to praise the Lord the way we would like to because of physical limitations of our bodies, but as long as we have breath, we can praise Him somehow, even if we’re only able to whisper His name. Someday though, those physical limitations will be gone when we behold Him face to face. What a day that will be!!!! I wonder just what kind of praise will erupt when we realize that we are saved through all eternity…………………………………………..

  6. Good morning again. The analogy of how folks react to goings on at a “temporal” sporting event is great. Folks will go completely nutty over the results of a contest that has no significance whatsoever, and yet not get excited about the Creator of all that is, becoming flesh and paying the sin debt of all with his own blood. I have known professing Christians who are more excited about football than the Lord Jesus. (Otherwise they wouldn’t cancel the evening service on super bowl Sunday. oops.)

    Thanks also for acknowledging the difference between heartfelt praise, which is often loud (like when those joy spikes hit as we tell of the awesomness of God) and meditation, which is quiet and reflective. Both should be present in our lives. (Although quiet reflection tends to result in a sense of awe at just how wonderful the Lord is. This, leads to joy spikes, which in turn cause shouting.)

    In short, the Lord is so incredibly awesome that all of our words fall woefully short of effectively describing. We can never praise him enough, but we can certainly praise and worship him forever. And what a time we shall have; doing just that throughout the eons to come. WOO HOO!

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

    Hi Timbob,

    I find it amazing sometimes the stuff over which folks get excited, things that don’t amount to a hill of beans in the light of eternity. When we really stop to think about the goodness of the Lord and the tremendous price He paid to bring us salvation, how can we not help but praise Him? I’m glad that there will be all of eternity to do just that, for He is certainly worthy! Thanks for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

