What Will You Say To Your Soul?

Do you ever talk to yourself? I know that I do occasionally. Today, I heard a sermon entitled O My Soul. It was a contrast of two people in the Bible that had a conversation with their souls. The first is the rich man in Luke chapter 12.

 

Luke 12:16  And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully:

12:17  And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits?

12:18  And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods.

12:19  And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.

12:20  But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided?

12:21  So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.

 

Verse 19 tells us what this rich man said to his soul. This rich man apparently had a false sense of security from his abundant wealth and deceives himself into thinking that everything is alright because all his financial ducks are in a row. The Epicurean philosophy of eat, drink and be merry which was common and prevalent at this time was what this man embraced. It’s still around in our present culture, and many people are lying to themselves in the exact same manner as this rich man.  There is something about monetary prosperity that can deceive people into having a false concept of well being. It’s not impossible to be wealthy and serve God, but the Bible does speak in other places of the deceitfulness of riches. (Mark 4:19, Luke 12:15)

 

On the other hand, we can take a look and see what the Psalmist said to his soul.

 

Psalm 103:1  A Psalm of David. Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name.

103:2  Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits:

103:3  Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases;

103:4  Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies;

103:5  Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

 

David is telling his soul to bless the Lord. In verse 2 he talks about not forgetting all the benefits that God gives us, and he goes on to list some of them in verses 3 through 5. The enemy of our souls would love for us to forget the things that God has done for us. Sometimes in the midst of a struggle or trial, it can be easy to forget God’s goodness to us if we begin to focus too much on the present circumstance. During these times it would be good to stop and consider the things that David said to his soul.

 

 God forgives all of our sins when we come to Him in repentance. What a great blessing this is! I don’t know about you, but sometimes I mess up. I’m glad God is not standing there waiting to bop me on the head. Many times I John 1:9 has been a comfort to me.

 

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

 

God is a healer! Although He does not heal everyone that comes to Him for healing, He is certainly able to do so. Sometimes there is a purpose in our sickness(as in the case of the apostle Paul), but we can still trust God that He knows best. If in His wisdom, He sees that a physical healing is the best thing for us, He will bring it to pass.

 

God redeems our life from destruction! If we receive His salvation, we can be saved from eternal destruction in the lake of fire and have a hope of living with Him forever in a heavenly place. 

 

God crowns us with lovingkindness and tender mercies. If we really stop and think about it, we can see ways every day in which God has been loving, kind and merciful to us.

 

I think David gave us some good truths that we can speak to our souls, truths that will help us to keep ourselves in the love of God. The next time I’m feeling discouraged and my soul needs a good talking to, I pray the Lord will bring this to my mind(and yours too).

7 thoughts on “What Will You Say To Your Soul?

  1. What do you think it means when it says, “cleanses us from ALL unrighteousness?”
    What does that mean to you personally?

    Hello Called Soldiers, (I hope you don’t mind me calling you this, as I don’t know your first name)

    I believe God is thorough in everything He does, and the use of ALL in this verse seems to denote that when we confess what we’ve done and are forgiven, He cleanses, purifies and purges us wholly from our unrighteousness.

    I John 5:17 mentions, “All unrighteousness is sin: and there is a sin not unto death.” All sin will eventually lead to (spiritual and eternal)death if it is not repented of. The sin that will not lead to death is the sin of which we confess and repent. Hope this makes sense, and thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      1. It wasn’t my intention to be confusing.
        Your reply to me was Jesus cleanses purifies, and purges us wholly from our unrighteousness and then you added that sin will eventually lead to spiritual and eternal death if not repented of and so I asked and wondered why anyone would then choose to sin?

        Hello again. I didn’t believe you were intentionally trying to be confusing. I just needed clarification on what you were asking. Why would anyone chose to sin? Well, the Bible does let us know that there is pleasure in sin, however it’s only for a season. (Hebrews 11:24,25) Some people know that they are living a sinful lifestyle, but they may have it in the back of their mind that they will repent someday and get their life right with God. However, what they fail to realize is that none of us have the promise of tomorrow, and their life may come to an end before they have a chance to repent and obey the gospel. I could go on and expound more, but this is basically the way I see it in a nutshell. Hope this makes sense.

  2. This is good advice. I usually think about dwelling on what is pure and honorable like it says in Philippians (once I realize that my thinking is wrong), and what better way to do that than to bless the Lord! Thanks for this post.

    Hi Becky. The verse you mentioned in Philippians has been a great help to me too.
    Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

    Sometimes our minds can be infiltrated by “stinkin’ thinkin’, but I’m glad that the Word of God shows us the remedy for this.

  3. Wonderful thought…with great scriptures provided. God Bless You Carol. This post speaks to the heart.

    Thank you, Karen. The Lord woke my husband up with this thought early Sunday morning. I know it spoke to my heart.

  4. Good morning. This is a really good comparison. Justr as the thrust of a persons conversation will reveal the contents of the heart, what a person says to their soul will reveal where their confidence and allegiances reside. We should all give heed to what we are unwitingly “saying to our souls.”

    Thanks for a great comparison. Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

    Hi Timbob. You bring out a good point here in that we unwittingly say things to our soul. Whether we realize it or not, the choices we make between good and evil can be what we are speaking to our souls. Thanks for your input here.

  5. Wonderful post – Soul talk – something we need more of with the Spirit as our guide and not our self-will! Often my prayer is that God’s words are implanted on my heart, mind and soul so I think and speak from His truth and not something else. Sometimes it astounds me the talking that goes on inside even when I’m not paying attention! It is my prayer that His truth invades every word discussed in my inner most being and in others.

    Rachel

    Hi Rachel. There are so many “voices” in the world today that we need to have our minds marinating in the Word of God so we can think and act in a way that’s pleasing to the Lord. I have found that sometimes it helps to pray the Word, although I probably don’t do that as often as I should. Thanks for stopping by today and leaving your comment.
    Blessings,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

