Restoration

Sin it crouches

Sin it pounces

Pounces on me

Pounces on you

You try to run

You try to hide

Hide the shame

Hide the truth

Truth that hurts

Truth that wounds

Wounds that fester in the heart

Wounds that tear a life apart

Apart from God

Apart from mercy

Mercy can refuse

Mercy also beckons

Beckons softly

Beckons tenderly

Tenderly His voice

Tenderly it calls

Calls for repentance

Calls me to an altar

Altar of humility

Altar of confession

Confession brings release

Confession brings peace

Peace floods my soul

Peace like a river

River that flows

River of life

Life that’s worth living

Life meant for giving

Giving of self

Giving in service

Service to others

Service to God

God of love

God of hope

Hope for tomorrow

Hope in my sorrow

Sorrow that comes

Sorrow that goes

Goes in God’s time

Goes in God’s season

Season of revival

Season of renewal

Renewal

Revival

 

Written 7/19/09

This type of poem is called The Blitz. You can click here to see how to write it.

4 thoughts on “Restoration

  1. Oh I love this poem and the blitz style. The style reminds me a little of the song Softly and Tenderly. Great job, Sis!

    Love you,
    Keek

    Thanks, Keek. I was looking at different types of poems on shadowpoetry, and I thought the blitz might be fun to try. Love ya too!

  2. I’ve never heard of the blitz style, but I like it! I wish I had a talent for writing poetry…

    I wasn’t familiar with this type of poem either until a couple of days ago, but I thought it would be fun to try. I don’t know if I really have a talent for writing poetry, but I do enjoy trying.

Leave a Reply

