Big Boys Do Cry

Yesterday, I was having a discussion with someone very close to me about the subject of men that can cry. In our society, this is something often viewed as a flaw or weakness. Men are supposed to be tough and strong and have a backbone like a sawed off log. I don’t believe this is the case though when it comes to having a relationship with God. Whether we’re male or female, God really can’t do anything with us until we come to Him in brokenness. There are many Scriptures that bear this out.  Here are a few for consideration.

 

The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.   Psalm 34:18

 

 

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.   Psalm 51:17

 

Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.   Matthew 5:4

 

James4:8  Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.

4:9  Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness.

 

Later as we were talking, the name of a particular individual was brought into our conversation. It was noted that this guy is definitely not a sissy. He enjoys doing the typical things that are associated with men, but when it comes to being broken in the presence of God, he is not ashamed or afraid to cry. I really appreciate this quality in a man. Maybe I’m just weird, but there is something about seeing a man break down in the presence of God that just makes me break all over again too.

 

Here are a few quotes I found about brokenness that I really liked. May God bless our churches with more men that are not ashamed to come before the Lord with a broken spirit!

 

“True prayer is born out of brokenness.” Francis J. Roberts

 

“God will never plant the seed of his life upon the soil of a hard, unbroken spirit. He will only plant that seed where the conviction of his spirit has brought brokenness, where the soil has been watered with the tears of repentance as well as the tears of joy.” Alan Redpath

 

“The kingdom of God is a kingdom of Paradox, where through the ugly defeat of a cross, a holy God is utterly glorified. Victory comes through defeat; healing through brokenness; finding self through losing self.” Charles Colson


“Deliverance can come to us only by the defeat of our old life. Safety and peace come only after we have been forced to our knees. God rescues us by breaking us, by shattering our strength and wiping out our resistance.” A. W. Tozer

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Big Boys Do Cry

  1. I am very impressed when I see a man cry. Real men cry real tears. Some would like to say it is a sign of weakness however I believe that it is a sign of strength. Very good post.

    Hi Karen. I think it is a sign of strength too and humility. May the Lord bless us with more men that will weep tears of repentance, tears of joy and tears for lost souls.

  2. I respect it, thank you for this post… but the traditionalist in me does get umcomfortable when men cry… however, I am glad my own limitations do not prohibit them from doing so!!!

    I love this picture… your own landscaping???
    Hi Cindy. Thanks for your honesty here. I can understand you feeling uncomfortable with men crying if that is the way you have been raised. The header picture is actually from my sister’s beautiful backyard. I took it on the 4th of July.

Leave a Reply

