Roots and Wings

This past Sunday, we had a missionary in service with us. Later on, when he was visiting with us at our home, he shared the following quote.

There are two lasting bequests we can give our children: One is roots, the other is wings.” Hodding Carter

I’ve been thinking about this quote a lot, and I believe it’s wise and true. Since we had children, my husband and I have tried all their lives to give them roots. We want their roots to go deep in God and desire them to have memories from their childhood years that they can look back on with fondness.

The day before this missionary came, I was reminded once again of a project that I had started on which will be a gift to my children.

416PGXG9TCL._SL500_AA240_[1]

I received this book as a gift a couple of years ago from our church. This book is broken down into months, and in each month there are questions to which I must write my answers. These are questions about my life and how I view things. Looking once again through the book, I saw that I had gotten half way through it before I left off writing. I am working on it again and aim to finish it in a month or so.  It’s not only a part in giving my children roots, but it will be a nice keepsake for them to look back on from time to time.

Now as far as giving them wings……………………………………that will be a little more difficult. There is pleasure in seeing them fly, but I know the day is coming when they will not return to the nest. Ouch! I think I’ll enjoy them while they are still here.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Roots and Wings

  1. That book will be a wonderful gift for your children and I’m sure they will treasure it. I don’t have a book like that, but I do journal on a regular basis. I hope that my kids will find some value in my old journals. I’ve written about the good times as well as the challenging times. My testimony of God’s help is laced throughout. It is my hope that my kids stay rooted in the Gospel.

    As far as giving my kids wings…my oldest is graduating in a week, and I still feel like I’M NOT READY! She is. I’m not. 🙂

  2. I guess I’m confused. I agree with the quote, but I thought we gave children wings little by little, as soon as they were ready. Like a four year old is old enough to decide for himself whether to wear the green or the blue shirt…. and then one he drives off, and you better have given him roots.

    I see what you are saying, Helen. We do give our kids wings little by little in allowing them to make some choices as they age. Those are kind of like the little “flying lessons” that the mother bird gives to the baby birds. However, there comes a day when the “babies” leave the nest for good. In time our kids will go out on their own, and although they are still a part of our lives, the relationship changes somewhat in that they are now doing “solo flights”. They may seek our advice from time to time, but when it comes to making the decisions, they will “fly” in the way they choose. The roots part comes gradually too, as we “train up a child in the way he should go.” Hope this makes sense.

  3. If the roots are deep and healthy, I believe that when it comes time to fly “solo”, our children will fly in the way they choose but that the draw of those deep roots will always steer them back in the right direction. The Bible is the best “how to” manual 🙂

    I agree, Catherine. The Bible is the best how to manual. After all, if our kids are on loan to us from God, then shouldn’t we seek to raise them in a way that’s pleasing to Him? Thanks for stopping by today.

Leave a Reply

