Lord, Please Heal Me Of My Procrastination…………

tomorrow.

procrastination1

A few days ago, it was one of those dark and dreary mornings. My daughter didn’t feel like doing any school work, and I didn’t feel like doing much of nothing either. She was laying across my bed when I blurted out this statement.

“Lord, please heal me of my procrastination…………….tomorrow.

The strange thing about procrastination is that it assumes there will always be a later time or a tomorrow to accomplish something. Not knowing when our time on earth will be up, we just don’t have that guarantee. I can certainly understand putting off unpleasant or frustrating tasks, like housecleaning, sorting through old mail, etc., because I do my share of it.  There is an instance of procrastination however, that I read about in the Bible that doesn’t make much sense to me.

Exodus 8:8  Then Pharaoh called for Moses and Aaron, and said, Intreat the LORD, that he may take away the frogs from me, and from my people; and I will let the people go, that they may do sacrifice unto the LORD.

8:9  And Moses said unto Pharaoh, Glory over me: when shall I intreat for thee, and for thy servants, and for thy people, to destroy the frogs from thee and thy houses, that they may remain in the river only?

And he said, To morrow. And he said, Be it according to thy word: that thou mayest know that there is none like unto the LORD our God.

Pharaoh and the Egyptians had this terrible plague of frogs in their land. Pharaoh calls for Moses and Aaron, because he knows that their God is responsible for this plague, and tells them to ask the Lord to take this plague away.  Moses responds with(my own paraphrase)”Okay, when would you like me to ask the Lord to remove the frogs from your houses and send them back to the river?” I think if I were Pharaoh, I would have screamed, “Duh, RIGHT NOW!”  What does Pharoah say? To morrow. Why put up with those lousy frogs for one more night? Maybe Pharaoh didn’t want Moses to think that him and his people were really that bad off, so he said tomorrow to seem not too desperate. I’m not really sure what to think.

I think it’s normal for all of us to procrastinate some, but I believe the Bible speaks of certain things that should not be put off until the later time.

2Corinthians 6:2

 

(AMP)  For He says, In the time of favor (of an assured welcome) I have listened to and heeded your call, and I have helped you on the day of deliverance (the day of salvation). Behold, now is truly the time for a gracious welcome and acceptance [of you from God]; behold, now is the day of salvation! [Isa. 49:8.]

 

The best time to consider and tend to the state of our eternal souls is always today. We don’t have the promise that we will have tomorrow to do this, although it is so easy to live as though we do.

Act 24:24  And after certain days, when Felix came with his wife Drusilla, which was a Jewess, he sent for Paul, and heard him concerning the faith in Christ.

Act 24:25  And as he reasoned of righteousness, temperance, and judgment to come, Felix trembled, and answered, Go thy way for this time; when I have a convenient season, I will call for thee.

Felix and his wife had opportunity to hear Paul preach concerning Jesus Christ, but at the conclusion of  his reasoning, Felix informs Paul that he will call for him again when he has a convenient season. I wonder if he ever had another convenient season to hear Paul or to apply the gospel to his life. The Bible does not record this happening.

Luke 12:16  And he(Jesus) spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully:

12:17  And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits?

12:18  And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods.

12:19  And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.

12:20  But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided?

Luk 12:21  So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.

In this parable that Jesus told, we see a man that is very industrious, working hard to make sure that he has ample storage for the abundant fruit that his land has brought forth. He decides to build bigger barns to assure that he has more room for his plentiful crop. He feels assured that with all this surplus, he will be well taken care of for years and has nothing to worry about. The problem is that he has procrastinated concerning the need of his soul and where he stands with God, and he doesn’t realize that time has run out for him. All that he has labored so hard for will now go to someone else, and what will he say when he stands before God?

I believe that once we have received Biblical salvation, there is another area in which God would like us to cease from procrastinating and that is in our efforts to reach out and share the gospel with others.

John 4:34  Jesus saith unto them, My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to finish his work.

4:35  Say not ye, There are yet four months, and then cometh harvest? behold, I say unto you, Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest.

Sometimes we think of evangelism as being part of an outdoor crusade or going with a group from our church on Saturday to pass out flyers for a few hours, and reaching out to people can involve these things. However, we shouldn’t feel that we can put off our outreach efforts just because we’re involved weekly or occasionally in an organized outreach effort. If we pray and ask God to lead us, there are opportunites every day for us to be a witness to somebody. What about our neighbors, co-workers, schoolmates, grocery store checkers, bank tellers, relatives that do not know God and people we meet as we go about our daily business? Jesus said in Acts 1:8 that after we received the Holy Ghost, we would receive power to be His witnesses. I once heard a preacher say that we need to develop a mindset that wherever we go, we are a witness. I am His witness while I grocery shop. I going out to witness while I do my banking, etc. (The Lord knows I need some work in this area, and I’m glad He’s talking to me about it.)

I really don’t know how to end this post other than saying that I don’t want to be a procrastinator when it comes to doing the things that are important to God. May God help us that are striving to live for Him to order our priorities with Him in mind.

5 thoughts on “Lord, Please Heal Me Of My Procrastination…………

  1. you would post this when I happen to be procrastinating something reletively big and tedious!!! : )

    Thank you for your encouragement over at my blog, I appreciate your words. Cindy

    Hi Cindy. I was really kind of preaching to myself when I wrote this. I think all of us procrastinate, and all procrastination is not necessarily a bad thing. I just don’t want to put off doing the things that God would have me to do and wanted to exhort others to do the same. Thanks for stopping by today.

  2. The enemy doesnt mind all the great grand envangelisitc efforts we plan to do someday and he isnt much interested in what we did for God 5 years ago…if the devil can get us to dwell in the past or future we are worthless in the present. Great post!

    Very true what you said. The devil would like us to do nothing right now. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. Good morning and AMEN to the comment by CM. Recently CR was wondering why the Jehovahs Witnesses are so energetic and the saints often struggle to get out and spread the gospel. The truth is that the Jehovahs Witnesses don’t have a devil trying to hold them back. The enemy would have no problem with everyone in town subscribing to their doctrine. But anyone proclaiming truth will have a continuous fight.

    Each day, the enemy will strive to hinder us. Each day we must determine to recognize the devices being used against us and determine to not be distracted. May we go forth each day in Jesus name; knowing that every day sees decisions made which have eternal implications.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  4. Ma soeur,
    Ce billet me parle specialement en ce temps de repos après un problème de santé. J’ai un peu de mal a remonter sur le cheval. Mai au Nom de Jésus, je ne reste pas bas! Le monde appelle “au secours” et nous avons la solution.
    Timbob is right, if you don’t proclaimn the Truth, no opposition.

    God bless you,
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

