Potpourri Post

This is going to be a pretty random post. I just wanted to share some things that have happened over the past few days.

Our church website has been updated. If you click here,you should be able to view some pictures of the renovation done on the building and what it looks like now. I feel so thankful when I see these photos. God blessed us with a lot of good help, and the building (I’m referring to the physical structure and the people) has come a long way in a short time. Thank you Jesus!

My brother-in-law Dean flew in for a visit on Wednesday. We are really enjoying having him out here. On Friday, we were able to spend some time in San Francisco. We went to Fort Funston in hopes that we would get to see some hang gliding. It didn’t look like that was going to happen, but as we were getting ready to leave, the wind started picking up a little, and my husband talked this man named Eric into doing a flight so we could take some pictures. It was really neat to watch him, and it looks like a lot of fun, but I still don’t think I could bring myself to do it. Do you?

img_4885

img_4887

img_48892

Of course, no trip to San Francisco is quite complete without a visit to Pier 39 and Fisherman’s Wharf. We always enjoy seeing the well known “Bush Man”.

img_4906

If you’re not familiar with the “Bush Man” , he is a busker who makes his living by hiding behind some eucalyptus branches and scaring unsuspecting passers by. He’s selective about whom he chooses to scare and avoids elderly folks .  Many people who know where he hangs out will stand across the street and watch as he looks for victims to startle. It’s really quite amusing to watch. We did a little online research later and found out that in a good year, the Bush Man makes about $60,000.  Have I missed my calling? LOL

Below are some more pics from our San Francisco trip. Dean will be with us until Thursday, and while he heads to Phoenix, we’ll be traveling up to Ontario, Oregon where my husband will be preaching for our friends, the Savalas. I may not post again until we get back.

img_4862

The Kidz having fun at Funston

img_4860

Some poochies having fun at Funston

img_4892

img_4896

Alcatraz Island – We’ve been here almost 20 years, and I’ve never gone there.

img_4856

Uncle Dean and Jen looking for fun at Funston.

Why do I make a big deal over Fort Funston? We didn’t even know the place existed until Martin Luther King  Jr. Day this year. We have some friends that live in the Bay Area, and they thought it might be fun to go to Fort Funston and see some hang gliding. Well, we picked a terrible day to go. We had a real late start that day, and by the time we got there, it was almost sunset. It was extremely windy, and us ladies at least, we’re freezing. There were only a few other people there and not a single hang glider. We stayed a few minutes and left. We made a joke about it and started calling it “Fort Funless.” I’m glad we gave it a second chance, because it was fun this time.

9 thoughts on “Potpourri Post

  1. I would love to be near the ocean right now! Awesome pics, and it sounds like the outing was a lot of fun.

    And, no, I would never try hang gliding. Too scary for me! My husband WAS able to talk me into paragliding on our honeymoon. I clenched to rope so tight my husband thought it was hilarious.

  2. Looks like an amazing time, and I agree, I am working WAY to hard for my living… People really tip him?!?! that’s kinda cool actually… unfortunate however, most service people don’t make that.

    i DO think i’d try the hang gliding. once. thank you for sharing
    cindy

    Hi Cindy. Yes, the bushman gets lots of laughs and lots of tips. There are other people on the wharf that work for tips too. I’ve seen several that spray paint themselves silver and move like robots, artists and various musicians. It’s pretty interesting to go to the city and just watch people for a while. You are certainly more gutsty than me to want to try hang gliding. I don’t think being in the air would be too bad, but I’d have a hard time with the jumping off the cliff part.

  3. It is good to see you enjoying your brother-in-law’s visit. When we lived in the Bay area, we would stop by Fort Funston to watch the hang gliders. I particularly remember the man who had lost his legs hand gliding and was still doing it. And the Bush man was a character that was fun watching when a newcomer would come by. He had a way for surprising many. I love Pier 39 and its characters. We are in the City for husband’s doctor appointments but this time we will not be doing much sightseeing but spending time with family and friends. Oh yes, yesterday we spent the day in Marin County. We lived there for a time and I worked for the water district for a number of years. Lots of fun places tucked into it, and we enjoyed some of them.

    Hi Karen. San Francisco certainly has a lot of neat attractions. Hope your husband’s appointment goes well and that you enjoy your time with family. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Looks like a fun time. Funner yet was the time we had later on Chipman Lane, no? You’ll have to give me Dean’s e-mail so I can write him sometime.

    Yes, Dean said he really enjoyed seeing you all again, and he had a great time. We did too, of course. I’ll have to send you his e-mail when I’m on the upstairs computer. It’s not on this laptop.

  5. I would probably be one of those that the bushman scared and got a good laugh out of. As for the hang gliding, I would never try it. I’m a scardy cat. I want my feet on solid ground.

    Glad you are having a great visit with your brother-in-law. Nothing like great times with family.
    Hi Jolene. I’m with you on wanting my feet on solid ground. After all, Jesus said, “LO I am with you always.” LOL

  6. Hello Connell Family, Happy to hear you had a “FUN” experience at the Fort. Acutally, Spring and Fall are the best times to go. Don’t feel bad about Alcatraz, I been in the bay area over %#@$!! years and I’ve never visited either… Glad Dean had a good time….Your friend.

    Hi Sister Kerr. Yes, Fort Funston redeemed itself on our second visit. LOL Both the kids now think that they would like to try hang gliding. I think I’ll wait until the Rapture for my soaring through the skies experience. Thanks for stopping by. Love you!

  7. Carol, that sounds like so much fun! I would love to visit san francisco some day. I’ve often thought I’d like to try hang gliding, but once the opportunity was really there, I’m not sure if I’d be able to follow through. a couple of years ago we watched people at the outer banks windsurfing. that looked like lots of fun. by the way, congrats on the new building, I’m sure it’s a comfort to have a place of your own.

    Holly, San Francisco is a neat city to visit if you ever have the opportunity. If you do go hang gliding, please make sure that someone takes pictures that you can post on your blog. LOL Thanks for the congrats on the new building. We are enjoying it immensely.

  8. Hi Carol. Hang gliding is something that I’ve always wanted to try, but never pursued diligently. I used to rock climb quite often before getting married, but not since. As for the bush man, I agree. We’re on the wrong financial plan. lol I was just thinking of how to incorporate this method into sharing the gospel. The imagination is suddenly in overdrive. (I’m joking of course…..and then again….hmmm.)

    Thanks for the updates on everything. have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

    Hi Timbob. I do know someone that often preaches on the streets of a city nearby to us. My family was actually at a Sunday night service of our neighboring pastor/friend when this man received the baptism of the Holy Ghost. Anyhow, I have seen him at Wal-Mart with a megaphone, preaching in the parking lot. He’s not getting rich from it, but he has helped others to find true riches in Christ.

Leave a Reply

