Buried In Baptism

At the close of a wonderful church service, we were privileged to witness the baptism of a sweet 14 year old girl who has been coming faithfully to children’s church.  This was a special time for several reasons.

#1 – This was our first baptism in our new building.

#2-The girl who was baptized came to church through outreach that was done to promote our children’s church.  It’s so nice to see God bless efforts that are made in reaching out to people by allowing you to witness His working in some of their lives.

#3-It’s always wonderful to see someone get baptized in the only name under heaven, whereby we must be saved. (Acts 4:12) Always, I am taken back to the time of my own baptism at 16 years of age and am reminded of the amazing grace and mercy of God in my life.

Here are a few pictures of the baptism and also a reprint of a poem on Jesus’ name baptism from a couple of years ago. I am looking forward to seeing more souls baptized in His wonderful name soon.  Thank you Jesus!

img_4818

img_4819

img_4821

img_4822

Water Baptized In Jesus’ Name

 

Repentant sinner

willing and obedient

surrendered and submitted

wholeheartedly following

Scriptures holy

sins are remitted

past buried

transgression all erased

cleansed, renewed

washed, sanctified, justified

Jesus’ name called

baptized

I am

baptized

called name, Jesus

justified, sanctified, washed

renewed, cleansed

erased, all transgressions

buried past

remitted are sins

Holy Scriptures

following wholeheartedly

submitted and surrendered

obedient and willing

sinner repentant.

 

1Peter 3:21  The like figure whereunto even baptism doth also now save us (not the putting away of the filth of the flesh, but the answer of a good conscience toward God,) by the resurrection of Jesus Christ:  

1Corinthians 6:11  And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus, and by the Spirit of our God.  Luke 24:47  And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at
Jerusalem.
  Acts 2:38  Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.  Acts 4:12  Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.  Romans 6:4  Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.  Colossians 2:12  Buried with him in baptism, wherein also ye are risen with him through the faith of the operation of God, who hath raised him from the dead.  Acts 22:16  And now why tarriest thou? arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord.  

9 thoughts on “Buried In Baptism

  1. This is a wonderful palindrome, Carol! I am actually working on a palindrome right now about forgiveness and I had the exact same line “transgressions all erase”! I can’t believe it. I am going to take that line out but I think that is so amazing that we were thinking along the same lines.

    I love this espeically…Submitted and surrendered…Amen!

    Scotti

    Hi Scotti. Thank you for your kind words. If you want to leave “transgressions all erased” in your poem, that is perfectly fine with me. It doesn’t bother me a bit, and if it fits with what you wanted to say, I would leave it in there. Palindromes are challenging to write. I’ve done two of them, but I don’t think I will take on another any time soon. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Thank you, Carol. I changed it to ‘scarlet sins all erased’ because I think it fits better for my poem. Still trying to tweak mine a bit because I am trying to get it into a certain shape. Palindromes are not easy! Yours is wonderful.

  3. What a cool 1st baptism in the new building (which I have yet to see). God bless Mary on her new walk w/Him. Pleasant palindrome!

    I would love for you to see the new building some time. We feel so blessed to be there, and we’ve had a lot more visitors come through our doors since relocating.

  4. Awesome report. We use a horse trough for our prison baptisms. It certainly gets the job done.

    Hi Jana. Yes, a horse trough gets the job done, and I sure am thankful for it.

  5. I’m sure the angels were rejoicing, and so am I. I hope and pray this is only the first of many more to come.

    Love you,
    Kare

    We sure are thankful for this one and are praying for many more too! Looking forward to seeing you this week at NLC.

  6. Acts 2:38 is the only way to baptize-that being in the powerful and saving name of Jesus!

    Amen, Steve. I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

