Home Is Where The Hearts Are

img_4764

Don’t have a lot of dough to buy Valentine gifts?  Me neither. Here’s an easy cookie recipe that requires only a few common ingredients.  I hope all of you will have a wonderful Valentine’s Day by letting your family and friends know that you love and appreciate them.

Valentine Cutouts

 

1 cup sugar

¾ cup shortening (part margarine or butter softened)

2 eggs

1 tsp. Vanilla or ½ tsp. Lemon extract

2 ½ cups all purpose flour

1 tsp. Baking powder

1 tsp. Salt

 

Mix sugar, shortening, eggs and vanilla.  Stir in flour, baking powder and salt. Cover and refrigerate at least one hour.  Heat oven to 400.   Roll out dough about 1/8 inch thick and cut into assorted shapes with heart shaped cookie cutters.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet, and bake until light brown, 6 to 8 minutes.  Remove from cookie sheet; cool.  Decorate with creamy frosting.

 

Creamy Frosting

 

1 cup powdered sugar

½ tsp. Vanilla

¼ tsp. Salt

About 1 tbsp. Water or 1 to 2 tbsps. Half and half

Assorted food colors

 

Mix powdered sugar, vanilla and salt.  Beat in water until smooth and of spreading consistency.  Tint frosting with red food coloring as desired.  Decorate even more with colored sugars, sprinkles and cinnamon candies if desired.

7 thoughts on “Home Is Where The Hearts Are

  1. Those cookies look REALLY yummy!!! I might have to try them!

    Let me know if you do try them. They’re pretty easy to make. Just make sure you use a lot of flour on your rolling pin and the rolling surface to keep the dough from sticking. Bon appetite!

  2. Carol, These look yummy. I am not good with sugar cookies. I make all cookies into one inch balls. LOL I do make some good cookies.

    That’s okay, Helen. I’ve never been able to make good chocolate chip cookies, at least not from scratch. My only antidote is to buy the Tollhouse cookie dough. LOL

  3. My work’s PTA put on a Valentine’s luncheon for teachers and staff. They made the same delicious cookies and I must say that they were so good!!!!

    Hi Jaimee! This is one of my favorite cookie recipes. I make these at Christmas too using Christmas cookie cutters. Hope you and your husband will have a nice Valentine’s Day. 🙂

  4. Now I’m craving sugar cookies. They look delicious. I really needed to stop my craving with the cupcakes. Oh well, hey, it’s a special time of the year. Happy Hearts’ Day to you and yours.

    After we’re done with the Valentine goodies, I really need to make a greater effort to get back on the straight and narrow. I’m not really gaining, but I haven’t been able to lose anymore either. Whoever said it was easy to be a loser? LOL

  5. I wish I would have gotten online on Saturday and seen this post…I would have definitely made these cookies! Oh well, you say you also make them at Christmas time…or, why don’t I just make them ANY day??! Hey, there’s an idea!

    You can make these cookies for any holiday. If you wanted to do them for St. Patrick’s Day, you could just use a shamrock cookie cutter and die the frosting green.

Leave a Reply

