Biblical Sleeping Aid

One bullock, two bullocks,

three bullocks, four.

What was that noise?

Oops! I started to snore!

Do you ever have trouble sleeping? I have found that the Bible does have a remedy for that. Turn to the book of Leviticus and start reading for a while, and you may soon find yourself in the land of Nod. I must confess that it has worked for me a time or two. I know what the Bible says about the Bible.

2Timothy 3:16

All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

I do believe that this is true. Even the book of Leviticus is inspired by God and is profitable. I just have a hard time getting through all the different offerings, sacrifices, types of leprosy, treatments of leprosy and when to go show yourself to the priest without losing my concentration or drifting off into a state of semi-slumber. Is anybody with me here?

This can be a problem too when it comes to reading through some of the genealogies that we find in different portions of the Bible . I used to dread reading the genealogies until one day when the wife of one of our instructors in college changed my perspective. There was a big promotion every year at the college for students and faculty alike to read your Bible through. For those who finished at the end of the year, there was the great reward of the Bible Reader’s Breakfast, which was usually done up nice. I remember one year we had it on a big boat while sailing down the St. Croix River. Lots of fun! Anyhow, this instructor’s wife came up to a group of students all excited about this particular Scripture.

2Samuel 5:16

And Elishama, and Eliada, and Eliphalet.

She began to tell us how she became curious about these names, and wanted to find out their meanings. Here is what she found.

Elishama = God hears

Eliada = God knows

Eliphalet = God delivers

These were the last 3 sons of King David. Perhaps in giving them these names, David was summing up some important truths that he had learned in his life. We thought that was really cool, and my husband has actually preached from that text a few times.(I wrote a poem about it too.)

In certain portions of Scripture, God’s Word is compared to gold or something that is even better than gold. (Psalm 19:10, 119:72, Pro. 16:16) I’ve never had the experience of gold mining or panning for gold, but I have read about it some. Gold doesn’t usually just appear on the surface of the ground. It takes some searching, working and digging it out to find it. There are some wonderful truths in the Word of God that won’t be found by just a casual glance or speed reading through the Bible. Gold nuggets can be located in portions of Scripture that may seem to be more obscure and not as easily understood.

Leviticus? Well, there is Leviticus 17:11.

Leviticus 17:11

For the life of the flesh is in the blood: and I have given it to you upon the altar to make an atonement for your souls: for it is the blood that maketh an atonement for the soul.

All those blood sacrifices of the Old Testament were really pointing us toward the One who would become our perfect sacrifice in the New Testament, Jesus Christ.

As for the leprosy laws and all the different offerings in the book of Leviticus, I’ll have to make sure I’m reading in the morning(which I usally do) or I’ll succumb to droopy eyes and nodding head. If I can stay awake long enough and get out my shovel, the Lord just might have some more gold nuggets!

5 thoughts on “Biblical Sleeping Aid

  1. Excellent post! I’ll never see those “dreaded” passages the same way. Thank you Carol! My thoughts have been on “digging deep”, so this is perfect!

    Bonjour, ma soeur! God’s Word is so deep that I believe we haven’t even scratched the surface of the things He would like to show us. The amazing thing about the Bible is that no matter how many times you read it, there is always something new that we can see if we are looking for it. I’m hoping to find some nuggets in Leviticus. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Great post! Yes, God’s Word is as interesting as we desire it to be. I live the phrase… “getting out the shovel”… I do want to dig deeper and deeper into His precious word. It’s my life-line!

    Amen! I want to dig deeper too.

  3. Excellent post! And thanks for sharing the meaning of the names of David’s last three sons. I never knew the meanings. I learned something new…and their names certainly say a lot, eh?

    Yes, those names say a lot. Back in Bible days, names were often given because of their meanings and not because they sounded good to someone. A few folks in the Bible actually had their name changed by God.
    Gen 32:28 And he said, Thy name shall be called no more Jacob, but Israel: for as a prince hast thou power with God and with men, and hast prevailed.

    Jacob’s name means “deceiver”, but God changed it to Israel which means “prince of God.” Pretty cool!

  4. I almost fell asleep reading this post (just kidding). Good post!I know what you mean about Leviticus. Sometimes portions of the Word of God don’t come alive to us until we realize how they actually fit in with some lesson in life. I guess there’s a time for everything, n’est-ce pas? I’ve been reading the Bible through very slowly these days (I admit I’m just doing 1 chapter a day). I just got through Judges where there’s so much detail. I’m sure I didn’t remember everything, but perhaps somewhere along the line, I’ll be able to pull out some nugget I may have picked up. Sis. Norris had only read her Bible through 22 times when we were in her class. Do you even believe it? HAW! I think I’m up to 10. I REMEMBER THE SERMON MY BROTHER-IN-LAW preached on Elishama, Eliada, Eliphelet!

    Hi Tom. I’m almost done with Leviticus, and I feel like I have seen it through different eyes this time. It really has a lot to do with relationships, mainly the Israelites relationship with God and to one another. Some of the principles I read in Leviticus dealing with these areas I have found reiterated by either Jesus or one of the New Testament writers in the New Testament. It just never stood out to me before. That’s one of the things I love about the Bible. No matter how many times we read it, there is always something new we can glean.

  5. I struggle with Leviticus as well but last year read a commentary on it called “The Beauty of Holiness” by Philip Eveson which helped me see the book in light of the New Testament. Well worth reading if you ever find it somewhere.

    The prophets (Ezekiel especially) are a tough read for me as well. We just have to keep pressing into His word and like you say, “no matter how many times we read it, there is always something new we can glean.”

    Hi Joe. Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll see if I can find it. I actually got more out of the book of Leviticus than I ever have before. I usually read the King James version, but I decided to try reading it in the Amplified Bible. There were a lot of N. T. references listed for certain verses, and I looked all those up, which seemed to give it deeper meaning. I am glad that the Bible is an inexhaustible book, and there are always new things that God can show us. Thanks so much for stopping by today.

    God bless !

Leave a Reply

