God in the grocery store

feature_542_story1

Things have been rather tight for us financially, and this is the case for many other people that I know. I had to do a little bit of grocery shopping today and knew I would need to take it easy and not spend too much. Should I go to my favorite store(which tends to be a little pricier than the others) the middle of the road store that I go to once in a while or the store that gives me the feeling of shopping in a prison? After some debate in my mind I decided on the middle of the road store.

Have you ever felt like crying while you were out buying food? I did today.  Oh, I wasn’t bummed over not having much money to spend.  The tears that were near the surface were there because over half the things I had on my list were on sale.  This might seem silly to some people, but things like this are just little reminders to me that God knows where I’m at, and He really does care.  He certainly has helped me many times to get more bang for a buck. Over the past 25 years that my husband and I have been together, we’ve had our ups and downs financially. I have found that some of my best times, spiritually speaking, have been when we were broke.  I’ll never forget my husband being let go from his job when our daughter was 5 months old. It was a total surprise, and he ended up being unemployed for almost 14 months, but God was so faithful to still provide for us. I remember a few visits to our pediatrician’s office where I wasn’t charged anything , and I remember that good doctor giving me free formula and other baby products. We came to a point where we were days from foreclosing on our home. We prayed for God’s will, and when it looked like there was no help, the VA was able to step in and help with our loan. Shortly after that, Pete went to work again. Sometimes I think maybe God likes to get us in a position where we have no other options so that He can show us once again that He really is enough.

I don’t know what 2009 holds in store.  I am believing God for good things. If hard times come(which doesn’t necessarily mean “bad”) I don’t ever want to forget that if I look to God and put my trust in Him, He will be enough. My wish for the New Year is that He will be enough for you too.

11 thoughts on “God in the grocery store

  1. Loved your post. Isn’t it wonderful the ways that God shows Himself to us? I truly believe that we had taken for granted the many blessings the Lord has bestowed upon us. It is during times like these that we are reconnected with the ways He does take care of us. We just took a five-day trip, and spent a total of $150 (plus gift cards I’d held for so long and lots of special almost free offers). It was a gift from God that’s for sure. He is the Greatest.

    BTW: Have a Wonderful New Year and may Blessings Galore flood Antioch church, the ministry and its people.

    Hi Karen. A 5 day trip for $150 is awesome! I have some gift cards that I’ve held on to for a while too. They do come in handy at times. Hoping you, your family and church will have a very blessed New Year too!

  2. Mom, that was a really good post. I know God is going to take care of us and I’m so thankful that no matter where, He will always be there for us.

    Thanks, Jen. God has always taken care of us, and He’s there for us in every situation of life. Praise God for that!

  3. God is amazing! We’ve had our trying times financially too! And I agree with you 100%… some of our “trusting” times resulted in our greatest testimonies! We have to learn all over again… God is in control and we must put our faith and trust in Him and believe His Word. That often can be the hardest kind of “submission”, turning control over to God. I know… I’ve been there!

    Thanks for the honesty! You are a “REAL” person! I think we’d get along just great! 🙂

    You know, I have never thought of submission in this way, but you are absolutely right. I think we would get along great too. Who knows, maybe one of these days I’ll make it out to Tennessee. 🙂

  4. Thanks for this post, Carol…I can identify. My husband has been laid off three times in the first 7 yrs. of our marriage. The first time was right after we had gotten married…Scott was let go and unemployed for 7-8 months. The second time, we had just bought a house (2 months prior). The third time was less than a week after I discovered I was pregnant with our 2nd child.

    I’m still amazed at how God has brought us through all that. We still kind of struggle financially from time to time. We continue to depend on Him to carry us through.

    God is certainly faithful isn’t He? Thanks for stopping by, Janet.

  5. Carol, this is a great testimony. I remember when we were missionaries in Africa, we ran out of food and had no money. It was the week-end and there wasn’t anyway to get money. Brian and I decided we would “fast” for the weekend and, hopefully, our money would have arrived at the bank by Monday. We were sitting in the house that evening and we heard a truck coming up our road. We soon heard our guard opening our gate and the noisy truck was coming to our house. It happened to be a Lutheran missionaries wife we had befriended. She had a HUGE platter of homemade noodles and she told us, “My German neighbor made us these noodles and I just had to share them with you.” It was enough food to feed us the entire weekend and they were FABULOUS!!! She had no idea the Lord had sent her to our house. Funny thing, I never got the recipe and there have been times I have craved those noodles. LOL God is so good and He is always right on time.

    Hi Jana. Thanks for sharing your testimony too. I know fasting is a necessary spiritual discipline, but I’m sure my flesh would have enjoyed those yummy noodles! LOL

  6. This reminds me of the time when I was shopping with Mom and, after only just pulling in to the parking lot, a beautiful spot opened up, close to the front doors. Mom burst into tears of thankfulness as I pulled into it. No doubt she was overjoyed that she didn’t have to walk to the store from two blocks away (as usual) because her impatient son refused to ‘lurk’ for a close spot. I see that thankfulness for life’s unexpected ‘specials’ runs in the fam.
    Love ya,
    Bovvy

    Hey Bovvy. I hope it does run in the family. We all would be a lot happier if we could develop more of a grateful heart. Love ya, bro!

Leave a Reply

