Vacation Glitch

Up until yesterday, we had had just a perfect vacation with not one thing going wrong.  That was soon to change. On the morning of the 12th, we ate breakfast at Don The Beachcomber restaurant inside the Royal Kona hotel. We were able to sit outdoors and enjoy the beautiful ocean view as we feasted on the breakfast buffet.  After breakfast, we headed to the airport in Kona where we would catch a flight to Maui, have about a 2 hour layover and then fly to Oahu. Unbeknown to us, the flight had been changed to a later time, and we were never notified of this change.  It was getting close to our flight time, with no plane in sight when my husband noticed a discrepancy between our boarding passes and our original flight information.  He went back out to security to check it out.  Indeed our flight was delayed for 2 more hours, and I noticed on the boarding pass for our plane in Oahu that we wouldn’t  be leaving until 7 p.m. which was also a couple of hours later.  My husband was mad, because the people at Island Air told him one thing, and then when he called United, they gave him a different story.  He felt that both companies had been dishonest.  Anyhow, we did finally make it to Oahu, and we headed to a bed and breakfast place in Honolulu where we had reservations.  Upon our arrival, we were stunned to find out that this place was not what we expected at all.  The room where we were going to be staying had no curtains or blinds, which made us uncomfortable, even though we were assured that nobody could see inside. (My husband noticed that he could look outside and see things.) As we were leaving the room to go down and get our luggage, I noticed a big cockroach crawling down the hallway and pointed it out to Pete.  It just made my flesh crawl.  We ended up thanking the owner for her kindness to us, but we had to tell her that we just didn’t think we’d be happy staying there.  We were able to get a hotel about a mile a way, which cost more but was not the kind of place where you would find crawling critters.  As we sat in our room eating pizza at 11 p.m., we just had to laugh about the day’s calamities, and I knew this would be a fun thing to post.

Today was much better, but right now I’m too tired to go on, so it will have to wait until another time.  We’re having fun, but are looking forward to coming back and seeing the kiddos.  I miss them!

7 thoughts on “Vacation Glitch

  1. Sorry about that glitch with the flights, but glad you made it to Oahu. I remember when we stayed in Nevada at a Motel 6, we learned that the building was being plagued by beetles, spiders and the like. Thank God all we had in our room was a cricket, and it was stuck inside the light fixture in the bathroom. Hope your stay there is glorious!
    Love,
    Keek

  2. Well you were able the laugh and that’s great. I get the same way about crawling things inside the house. I’ve read all your posts, and I’m glad you’ve had a marvelous time!
    My daughter had a big scare last night with a huge hairy poisonous spider caught in her hair!!! Something is wrong with my program and I cannot download pictures. But when corrected, I’l definitely post about it 🙂
    Bon voyage de retour !

  3. I just got home from Camp Meeting, Sr. Camp, etcetera and catching up on blogs. Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. Brian and I will celebrate 29 years next month. Time flies when you’re having fun! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your trip and splurge as much as you can.

  4. Sounds like you are having a GREAT time. Glitches happen, but not for long! 😀 I might be just a tad bit envious of your vacation. I’d love to have some “time-off” with just myself and my husband. Enjoy, I know you are.

Leave a Reply

