Middle Age Monorhyme

We might as well have some fun with the aging process. I believe God wants us to enjoy every stage of life. 🙂

Hip Hip Hooray!

Hip hip hooray!
I’m getting more gray.
Those wiry strands, how they like to stray.
But my heart is not filled with total dismay
when I muse on what the Bible does say.
Those gray hairs that have come to stay
crown those who walk in a righteous way
So the aging process I won’t delay
by trying to color my locks away.
But to the girl in my mirror, I’ll speak if I may.
Hip hip hooray!
You’re getting more gray.

7/25/08

Proverbs 16:31

(AMP) The hoary head is a crown of beauty and glory if it is found in the way of righteousness (moral and spiritual rectitude in every area and relation). [Prov. 20:29.]

Proverbs 20:29 The glory of young men is their strength, and the beauty of old men is their gray head [suggesting wisdom and experience].

10 thoughts on “Middle Age Monorhyme

  1. Beautiful poem, Sis! I think the world has it backwards when it comes to hair color. Besides, that color in a bottle contains a lot of carcinogens and harmful toxins.

    That’s a good point about the carcinogens and toxins. Many people probably don’t think about that.

  2. Great Poem! Gray hair is nothing to be ashamed of. I am proud of everyone of mine. There have been times in my life that I thought I would not live to see the day that I would have gray hair. But God has brought me through. Now I have plenty and I love everyone of them. 😀

    And God loves them too!

  3. Carol, this poem is great! I love it! My husband and I are both certainly in the minority ’round here…most all the women and many of the men color their hair. From the time a person sees the first gray hair or two…even until some people are in their 80’s!

    Many people tell me that I should start coloring my hair (without me even asking for any opinions or mentioning it!) Many also act as if I’m weird or something for refusing “to be like everyone else” and/or for refusing to “turn back time” when I have the chance to do so (or at least look younger).

    Anyway, we just don’t feel right about it, and we must follow what He wants us to do…whether it’s popular or not! Not only does He know the number of hairs on our heads, but He also knows our true “color(s)!” We can’t hide anything from Him!

Leave a Reply

