Choose To Lose

This is the choice my husband and I have made.  The past two weeks we have been dieting and making some changes in our eating habits, and it is paying off.  I have lost 4 lbs., and I believe he’s lost 7.  It’s not coming off of me as fast as I would like it to, but at least I can see some progress.  A few days ago, I was thinking about the word “losing”.  If I asked you what your first thoughts would be when I mentioned the word “losing” or “loser” there would probably be a negative connotation associated with it, but there are times when losing is a positive thing.  Losing weight can be a good thing if it helps you to have a healthier body, even though the process of losing weight can sometimes be difficult.

There is a positive note to losing in a spiritual sense too.  Jesus talked about it in the book of Luke.

Luk 9:23

 

And He said to all, If any person wills to come after Me, let him deny himself [disown himself, forget, lose sight of himself and his own interests, refuse and give up himself] and take up his cross daily and follow Me [cleave steadfastly to Me, conform wholly to My example in living and, if need be, in dying also].

Luk 9:24

 

For whoever would preserve his life and save it will lose and destroy it, but whoever loses his life for My sake, he will preserve and save it [from the penalty of eternal death].

Luk 9:25

 

For what does it profit a man, if he gains the whole world and ruins or forfeits (loses) himself?

I’m thankful that at the age of 16, I lost my life one day as I cried out to God in repentance, was baptized in the name of Jesus and later filled with the precious gift of His Spirit.  It was the greatest loss of my life, and yet at the same time it was my greatest gain.  I’ve found that this “losing” experience that I had was not meant to be a one time thing.  God wants me and everyone who calls themself a Christian to continually be lost to our will and desires that we might have the gain of having Him live in us and work through us.  It’s not always easy, but He does give us overcoming power when we are filled with His Spirit and seek to do those things that are pleasing to Him.  Only through Jesus can losers become winners!

3 thoughts on “Choose To Lose

  1. Thank God We are Overcomers! Very inspiringly written. PS: Good for you on the shed pounds. My scales are showing signs of decline too. Wonderful feeling no matter how many pounds.

  2. Excellent Post! Great scriptures! Losing sight of myself so that I can focus on the Lord is the only way that I can make sure my soul will be saved. For the day that I take my eyes off of Him and focus on me that is the day that I will surely stumble and fall.

    Yes, some things are better losing and just staying lost. Selfwill is definitely one of them.

  3. How true…it’s a continual losing…surrendering our will to His! However, oh yes, “only through Jesus can losers become winners!”

    “Amen” to this post! Blessings, Janet

Leave a Reply

