Do or DIEt

There comes a time in some of our lives

due to the things we ate,

our expanded girth tells us that now is the time

to lay aside some weight.

 

I’ll be cutting back on food drastically

at the crack of dawn tomorrow.

I’d sure appreciate your prayers

in this, my time of sorrow.

 

It’s grapefruit and toast for breakfast;

and tuna and toast at noon,

if I stick to my guns and this diet

you’ll be seeing less of me soon.

 

With varied fruits and vegetables

and 3 ounces of meat at dinner,

and 64 ounces of water a day

how could I not get thinner?

 

So, I’m laying aside all my junk food.

Yes, I will be an absolute saint.

But please, could you send up some prayer for me?

I’m beginning to feel quite faint!

 

This is for real.  Monday is the big day.  My husband and I are going on a diet!  Aren’t you just excited for us?  Thursday night after Bible study, some friends of ours shared with us a diet that they have been trying that a friend of theirs got from her doctor.  You do the diet for 3 days a week and eat normally for the other 4 days.  This is what we get to eat the first day.

 

Breakfast – 1/2 grapefruit, 1 slice toast, 2 tbsp. peanut butter

 

Lunch – 1/2 can tuna, l slice toast

 

Dinner – 3 oz. any meat (we’re going to have steak, seasoned with salt and pepper only), 1 cup steamed string beans, 1 cup beets, 1 small apple, 1 cup vanilla icecream. (the reward for eating beets)

 

Of course, you’re supposed to drink 8 glasses of water a day too.  Diet sodas are not allowed and you can only drink decaffienated coffee with sugar substitute while on the diet.  Diets aren’t really something incredibly enjoyable, but I really want to try and make this fun.  Thus, the silly poem and this post. (and hopefully I’ll feel more accountable now that I’ve announced it to the blogging world)

 

You all pray our strength in the Lord.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Do or DIEt

  1. Loved your poem. This post was right-on for me. I started dieting last Friday. It’s not been easy but so thankful that I have company. Think it might make it easier. My goal is to have at least one “roll” off by camp meeting in August.

    Hi Karen. Well, it’s good to know there’s more company in this dieting venture too! It does make it a little easier when you have company. 🙂

  2. Oh, I’m so in need of this! The last several weeks have been difficult. Comfort food …ice cream, french bread and milk chocolate bars went from hand to mouth at a frightening rate. And now… Today I’m fasting and after that I MUST DIET!

  3. just think…what if you lived more than 2,000 years ago:
    There was an Old Testament component and a New Testament component to dieting.

    First the Old Testament. You have to be in God’s favor for this one. It amounts to obeying him and not complaining because you will eat Mana every day for every meal. You have to go pick it up from your lawn or nearby park. You cannot store it overnight or make it into any other dish. And if you complain too much and too often your supply will stop.

    Good luck!

    The next Biblical Diet is patterned after John the Baptist. This requires a little more work on your part. You have to catch locusts — these are large grasshoppers. Now you can eat them raw, shish kabob them, broil, bake, or prepare them just about any other way you can imagine.

    But for dessert you eat honey — wild honey that you gather yourself from a beehive. Don’t go buying your honey from the store. Once you locate a beehive it doesn’t matter what kind of honey it is. It can be any flavor, color, or consistancy.

    These are your two Biblical Food Diets. Bon Appetit!
    Thank God we get to eat TUNA & TOAST!!!

    Hey, you are right! This could be a lot worse. At least we have some variety with this diet and a good balance of bread and grains, fruits, vegetables, dairy, proteins and a little bit of fat. We actually enjoyed our beets and string beans last night and we both woke up weighing less. Thanks for sharing the Biblical diets.

  4. LOVE this poem…it’s too funny! I especially enjoyed the part “I’d sure appreciate your prayers, in this, my time of sorrow.” Yes, I think poking a little fun is a good idea. Yeah, it may not seem like the most enjoyable thing at first, but we sure feel a whole lot better with a little time!

  5. The poem was cute. I don’t do any diets. My philosophy is one must be willing to change their habits and make a lifetime committment. Until then, I will be overweight. (I did, however, lose about 35 pounds over the course of two years by changing a couple bad habits and I have kept the pounds off.) Now, if I can get enough willpower to lose 35 more.

    Hi Jana. I do agree that we should be willing to change our eating habits, which is what my husband and I are trying to do. (although it is a struggle)- the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak) Yesterday, he started adding up calories of what would be a typical day for him and comparing it to what we are getting on this 3 day diet. He said it was a big eye opener for him, and I think that he is ready to start eating healthier and watching his portions. I think he’s kind of excited, because he lost 6 lbs. already. We plan on continuing this 3 day on 4 day off schedule for a month, and then we’ll re-evaluate from there.

Leave a Reply

