Go Ahead And Laugh

I’d like to dedicated the following poem to my blogger friend Jolene at  http://www.jolenejmendoza.blogspot.com/.  I agree Jolene, that we need to laugh more.  We will always have problems and difficulties in our lives, but that does not mean that we cannot choose to be joyful. May you find lots of reasons to smile and laugh today.

 

“Then Laugh

Build for yourself a strong box,
     Fashion each part with care;
When it’s strong as your hand can make it,
     Put all your troubles there;
Hide there all thought of your failures,
     And each bitter cup that you quaff;
Lock all your heartaches within it,
     Then sit on the lid and laugh.
Tell no one else its contents,
     Never its secrets share;
When you’ve dropped in your care and worry
     Keep them forever there;
Hide them from sight so completely
     That the world will never dream half;
Fasten the strong box securely—
     Then sit on the lid and laugh.

© Bertha Adams Backus. 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Go Ahead And Laugh

  1. Sis. Connell, The poem is beautiful. I have found that in some of my hardest trials, all I had to do was hook up with my best friend and before long I was lost in a deep hearty laughter. This has always been my best medicine. Then there are times I can call my sister by phone or video cam who lives far away and we can laugh over the silliest things and again, it seems that the cares of life have just lifted from my shoulders.

    More than once I have put my cares in that box and sat on that lid a laughed. The poem sums it all up quite well. Thank you for this dedication.

  2. Haw, haw, haw! I love to guffaw! Good poem. I have it in my “Best Loved Poems of the American People. ” I guess we can’t take life too seriously. There has to be balance.

  3. I’m glad you dedicated this poem to Jolene and shared it with us today. I was just over at her blog and read her post, and then saw your comment about this poem. 2 great reminders for me today! I can be way too serious too much of the time…these days!

    …But I’ve been known to “hee haw,” and I don’t want to forget how! Laughter is such wonderful medicine and such a tremendous blessing!

    P.S. I did enjoy some laughs with a friend today, and I have felt so incredibly renewed in my spirit!

Leave a Reply

