Jedidiah

I remember listening to the Focus On The Family Radio Theatre’s version of Anne of Green Gables and hearing Anne rant about how awful it would be to be given a name like Jedidiah.  To her, it was just a name that was totally “unromantic.”  However, yesterday when I was reading my Bible, I got a different impression of this name.  Did you know that this was a special name that God gave to Solomon when he was a baby?  I have read the Bible through at least 8 times, and I don’t ever remember picking up on this before.

 

2Samuel 12:24

And David comforted Bathsheba his wife, and went in unto her, and lay with her: and she bare a son, and he called his name Solomon: and the LORD loved him.

2Samuel 12:25

And he sent by the hand of Nathan the prophet; and he called his name Jedidiah, because of the LORD.

I noticed in the margin of my Bible that Jedidiah means “beloved of the Lord.”  Here are the same verses in the Amplified Bible.

 

2Samuel 12:24

David comforted Bathsheba his wife, and went to her and lay with her; and she bore a son, and she called his name Solomon. And the Lord loved [the child];

2Samuel 12:25

He sent [a message] by the hand of Nathan the prophet, and [Nathan] called the boy’s [special] name Jedidiah [beloved of the Lord], because the Lord [loved the child].

 

This is one of the things I love about the Bible.  No matter how many times you read it, there is always something new that the Lord can bring to your attention.  There is no other book like the Bible, and I’m thankful to be able to have a copy of my own to read, study and love!

7 thoughts on “Jedidiah

  1. Great post, Carol. You are right in that no matter how many times you read the Bible the lord can always bring something new to your attention.

  2. I agree! Everytime you open up the Word of God you get something new out of it. No matter how many times you read it. That is why His word never gets old to me. It always refreshes my soul when I read it.

    Thanks for sharing this about “Jedidiah”. Didn’t know this. See, I learned something new again today just from someone sharing His Word with me. 😀

  3. The Bible is the only book I love to read over and over again. I just read Ruth the other day after hearing Jennifer Cobb speak about Ruth at IN ladies conference and it was like reading the story for the very first time. Amazing.

  4. I agree with the other comments. I never picked up on the name Jedidiah for Solomon, but there are lots of things in the Bible that hit me anew when I reread.

  5. I have definitely had that wonderful experience of getting something new whenever I read a passage again–I love that!

    I appreciate your reminder too that we are so very fortunate to have our own copies of God’s Holy Word!

Leave a Reply

