I’d Give My Life For Them

My brother-in-law Mike was getting ready to go to his own place after spending the evening with our family, his mom and brother Dean. As he was leaving out the back door, he turned to my husband and I and said something I wasn’t expecting to hear. “Your kids are really special. I’d give my life for them.” I don’t know if our faces registered shock or total surprise, but he reemphasized what he just said. “No, really, I would give my life for them.” We couldn’t seem to think of anything to say except thank you. It’s not everyday that someone makes this kind of comment to you.

I’ve thought a lot about what Mike said that day. I believe if there came a situation where my children’s lives were in danger for some reason, that he would do just what he said. I recalled a portion of Scripture that I later looked up.

Romans 5:7 For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die.

I believe my brother-in-law said what he said because of his estimation of his niece and nephew. He would deem them worthy of such a sacrifice. For a person to choose to lay down their life for someone that is considered good or noble would be an extraordinary and rare thing. I know my heart has been touched in the past reading stories of firefighters or policemen that gave their lives to rescue someone. We would consider people that do such things to be heroes, and they are. However, while the giving of a person’s life would serve to prolong someone else’s life on earth, it could do nothing to secure their eternal salvation. The next verse in Romans, I believe, sheds light on how heroic Jesus was in offering up His life on the cross.

Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

The sacrifice that Jesus made on the cross was for sinners, which includes every single one of us. This includes people whose actions that we might consider disgusting and despicable – the murderer, the pedophile, the rapist, the thief, etc. etc. If I asked you to name the most evil person you could think of, who would you pick? My mind goes to Adolph Hitler. To me, this man was just unspeakably evil and vile, and what he did to the Jewish people is beyond sickening. Yet, Jesus Christ gave His life for this man, that he might have a chance to receive salvation. How thankful I am for the love of God that sees past our sinfulness to the deep need of our souls! He gave His life for me, so that I could have the privilege of coming to know him through repentance, being baptized in the wonderful name of Jesus and being filled with His Spirit. His love is still reaching out, even today.

The Love Of God
by O.S. Davis

v. 1 – The love of Jesus to me is greater
than anything else I’ve ever known;
It reaches deeper than any sin stain,

v. 2 – It brought the Saviour from Heaven’s glory,
to give His life for a world of sin
though God of Heaven, He condescended
to prove to you that He is your friend.

v. 3 – It giveth comfort to those in sorrow,
it bringeth peace to a troubled soul;
the love of Jesus goes in the byways,
to seek the sin sick and make them whole.

Chorus

The love of God is more to me
than all this world coud ever be.
It reaches down from the throne of glory
and sets the vilest sinner free.
It reaches higher than Heaven’s throne.

8 thoughts on “I’d Give My Life For Them

  1. Sis, what a wonderful post. How touching that Mike would say that about your beautiful kids. How much more moving to know that Jesus gave His all for us in spite of our wretched, debauched state. I have a CD with Damaris Carbaugh singing “The Love of God”. I really like that song.

  2. Beautiful Post and a Beautiful spirit your brother-in-law has. I can imagine just how warm it made your heart feel to know that he loves and respects your children that much. Oh but so much the more should our hearts be warmed to know that Jesus died for us so that we might be saved.

  3. Your hearts must be glad to know that your b-i-l is such a great guy, and to know you’ve done a wonderful job in raising your kids, too.

    My mind always goes to Hitler, too, as the most evil person ever. And as you did, I’ve used him in illustrations that Jesus died even for HIM.

    My tiny little human mind can’t understand why it’s as bad to tell a lie, or steal, as it is for Hitler to do what he did… except that the Bible tells us that sin is sin, and all ugly to God because it breaks His command.

    Thanks for sharing this story. It’s wonderful!

    Thanks for your compliments, Jayleigh. Somedays I don’t feel like I’ve done such a wonderful job raising my kids, but I am striving to raise them in ways that I think are pleasing to God. Parenting is probably the hardest job in the world(well, pastoring is up there too), but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

  4. I like the picture on your header. Is that from Marine World aka 6 Flags? Nice shot!

    Thanks Keek. Yes, I took that at 6 Flags Discovery Kingdom, formerly known as Marine World. In my mind, I still think of it as Marine World. Do you?

Leave a Reply

