How New Words Are Formed At Our House

Yesterday, I was reviewing my son on some of the material he has learned for Bible quizzing tournaments in which he is involved.  He kept on mumbling his words, and I was having a hard time understanding some of what he said.  “Could you please stop mumbling and speak more clearly so I can understand what you’re saying?” says I.  “Okay mom, I’ll try to “emumbliate” better.”  he replied.  That’s exactly what he did.  He was still mumbling, but doing it in a way to where I could make out what he was saying!  Gotta love that boy!  What do you think?  Do you think we could get “emumbliate” put in the dictionary?  🙂

6 thoughts on “How New Words Are Formed At Our House

  1. Love that Boy! Love that word! It is funny how words and sayings evolve at our home too! It’s almost like we have our own vocabulary explicitly for our home!

  2. Ahhh referencing. . .how I miss those days. Wish I were still young enough to be a quizzer.

    Wish you could be here to help my kids reference. LOL Thanks for stopping by, Yvonne.

  3. I think it’s called a “sniglets” when we make an unknown word that sounds like it describes something that’s kind of indescribable. Emumbilate . . . I like that. One of the sniglets words is a special word for that “divider thingy” that you use at grocery stores to put in between orders. I don’t know what that word is, but it’s definitely a sniglets word.

Leave a Reply

